July 2014 Mystery Rug/HF&F/Starts this week!-rug hooking/Sunnie

As often happens, I had a few designs that I was considering for my next rug and had just about decided when I realized that with this hot weather (!!!) I did not want to use my brain very much..!!   lol   I wanted something to do that I did not have to think about…just to enjoy.

Sooo…I did what I often do in these situations.   I got out my notebooks of past design “scribbles” (on napkins, envelopes, pieces of scrap paper, etc.) and while going through them I waited for something to jump out at me!    🙂

Since I wanted to do another “De-worming” rug, I took 2 of my sketches, put them together, added a couple of things and “Ta Dah!!!”…I had the main part of my design!   I will design the border as I go…but it will not take much brain power to do that.

I’m not experimenting, trying for a certain effect or working on something serious!!!!   I have that plaid wool that I wanted to use and I’m going to try it here.   If I don’t like it on this piece, at least I’ll see how it hooks up in small areas as a background!!!!!   lol

You won’t have to use Your brains very much either as you follow along on this rug!   So we will all get a rest..!

I’ll work on getting my design enlarged and transferred to the linen today or tomorrow and see if I can get started…I want to get hooking once again!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “July 2014 Mystery Rug/HF&F/Starts this week!-rug hooking/Sunnie”

    1. And I’ll be hooking with bells on my fingers!!!! lol which reminds me, I need to design my Winter Apartment sign pretty soon too…I have Autumn, thankfully, but must do something funny for Winter!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

