July 2014 HF&F Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking- primitive-Day 2

Hooray…I’m coming along!!!

With today’s post you will know just what the theme of this rug is…and the different motifs, as we go along, will be obvious!!!!…but I’ll still keep giving you “bits and pieces” of the rug until the finish!   lol

By the way, I am doing this on my usual linen burlap (MCG textiles), the rug is 29 x 33 1/2 inches right now and the cuts are #3, #4, #5 and #6..!

Today I want to show you the picture of the background wool I am using…!   I love this plaid but I know that it would not have been my first choice as a background if I was just looking at my design and gathering wools that are typical for this type of rug!   However, since I started with the background wool and decided to design something that I thought would work on it, I came up with this!   At least you will see what this plaid looks like hooked up!!!   lol

plaidBK

July2014HF&Fday 2

From a distance, the plaid blends and makes a really nice background with the lights and mediums and a touch of green in there too!!   I am outlining my motifs with black so they will stand out no matter what the colour!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “July 2014 HF&F Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking- primitive-Day 2”

Leave a Reply

