July 2014 HF&F Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-primitive-Day 7

Away we go…I feel like I am making good progress and loving the colours I am using!   That makes the whole process an enjoyable adventure!!!   🙂

You will note that I try to have my border squares, circles, lines, etc. slightly “off”…I just sketch them on rather than drawing around something for precision and accuracy!   I feel that this gives a more “informal”, primitive, simple quality to the rug…and,  especially at Halloween, things are slightly goofy!!!   lol      Now, you might think that I am “slightly goofy” all the time, not just at Halloween!!!!!   But at least at this time of the year, I have a great excuse for my behavior!!!   🙂

A little tip…I imagine many of you already do this, but if you don’t have a “board” on which to clip your rug and stand back for a distance look at it, you can always take a photo and put it on your computer as a “desktop background”!   The photo makes it easier to see any errors or things that need to be tweaked.   I actually do both.   I have an older computer, not connected to the internet, that is a delight to use for the photo editing program!   It is simple, easy to use and works wonderfully!   I keep my “in progress” rug on the desktop background on this old computer as I go along.

Also, the “Paint” program on the old computer makes enlargements and prints my pattern guides out on regular paper.   I tape the sheets together and use my light table to transfer the guidelines to my linen.   I don’t have to go to a copy shop for enlargements, I can print them in “draft” mode and simply go over the major lines to transfer with my black sharpie pen and get the size exactly right.

I usually draw the outline of my rug on the linen first, then center my design within the rectangle or square.   I add borders or make the rug smaller or larger if I think the center needs more room!   I much prefer using the old computer to do these things than using my newer, “more improved”!!!!!!!!” computer!   lol

I must do some cleaning today…however, I hope to have time to hook this afternoon…I’d rather be hooking than cleaning house!!!!!   I wonder why???   lol

So here we go for the Progress on Day 7…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

HHFmysteryday7

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “July 2014 HF&F Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-primitive-Day 7”

Leave a Reply

