July 2014 HF&F Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-primitive-Day 16

I had some time today to hook on the bottom border and managed to get that all finished except for some tweaking I might do this evening!   🙂

I have another motif to do, some background and a section of border to finish…and then this rug will shout Happy Halloween!     This has been great fun…I DO love Halloween rugs and quilts!!!!     And…of course…the name of this rug is “Halloween Friends and Fun”!   You knew it all the time!!!!!!!   lol

A little about this rug…as you already know, I chose the background first and designed a rug that I thought would look good with this background.   I am happy with my choices.   All of the motifs are original sketches by me with the exception of the cat’s rear end..!!!!!!   lol…..I thought my book of holiday clip art had a better cat rear than the one I sketched.   So I used it..!   One of the motifs was sketched several years ago and kept in my “ideas” notebook.   The others were done at the start of this rug and filled in as I have gone along.

Although the borders and motifs do not match (and I have purposely made things a little “off” (!!!) which makes them more fun for Halloween) I try not to have my work look “sloppy” or just thrown together.   I usually have a reason for the things I do!!!   🙂

Also, especially on a rug like this (or a “carnival rug” , etc.) I prefer not to have my motifs “predictable”!   For instance, if I were hooking a dancing skeleton, I might have all of his bones hooked in white with the exception of his toe bones which might all be shades of light purple!   So I sometimes don’t match the skin tones on hands and feet or I might hook a tiny nose on a face that really needs a big nose to balance it out..!

So here is Progress on Day 16…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

julymystday16

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “July 2014 HF&F Mystery rug/Sunnie/rug hooking-primitive-Day 16”

    1. Thank you, Robbie! I appreciate the encouragement and kind words from my online friends! 🙂
      I have few responsibilities these days so I have much more time to design and hook than “normal” people!!!!!!! lol Also, I no longer operate my folk art business so I have no demands or deadlines on my time…and no business paperwork, gallery visits, etc. to do.

      So I do have fun and get a lot of hooking done!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

