July 2014 Halloween Friends and Fun-mystery rug/Sunnie/ FINISHED!

Hooray!!!   Even after several days where my best laid plans got thrown out the window (!!!)   I finished my “Halloween Friends & Fun” Mystery rug today…on Day 19!  🙂

This has been one of my most fun rugs…not only because I started with just choosing the background wool (a “medium” value that meant careful choices so the motifs would show up!!!) but because I did the sketching and then really designing the rug center and the border as I went along!

As I’ve told you, I have a board on which I display the rug as I am working on it…so that I can see it from a distance.   I think this is essential for me as, up close, sometimes things look fine and then when seen from a distance or with other parts of the rug, something is not quite right..!!!      (Now there are those who say that I am “not quite right” for doing these things (!!!!)…lol…but it is just delightful fun!

For those of you who like to know about my decisions, process, etc., this is what I did when designing this rug.

Halloween rugs can be slightly “off”, with bright, even garish colours and can be done almost any way you please!

I have balanced my rug even though things are not the “same”…the black cat balances the black in the tree at the opposite corner of the rug…the bright border squares and rectangles (all not precise, just sketched on) balance each other at opposite corners too.

All of this rug is my own design except for the cat’s rear end.   lol…I liked the cat rear in one of my books of holiday clip art better than my sketch, so I used it..!   I did not put little coloured circles in the border under the cat as  that can look like he is pooping!   There may be rugs upon which a pooping cat is a great motif…but this is not one of them!!!   LOL

I wanted the creepy tree to be in the rug but not to take it over…so I had it go into the border and out of sight.   The triangle beside the tree and the border box with the “watermelon”-looking thing actually make an optical illusion of depth.   However, I was not clever enough to PLAN that…it just happened.   (You will note that the cat’s tail also goes into the border…so I thought that was a good balance at opposite corners too.)

I drew my little “pumpkin guy” some years ago on the back of an envelope…the little “vampire witch” I just drew at the start of this rug.   I love the chartreuse “bugs” on her skirt and I changed the green sleeves to black to make the figure stand out more and to add a bit more black to the mix.   The little pumpkin guy is brightly coloured because he might have gotten lost with the large witch figure.   So he is bright..!   🙂

You will see that I have made a wider, more “substantial” , “heavy” and simpler lower border as a base for the figures to stand upon.   I often do that as I like a sturdy base.   Also, the “concrete” blocks that the P.Guy stands on needed a sturdy support..!!!   If you look carefully, you will see the “rebar” holding the blocks together securely!!!!!   lol

I have tried to be consistant in my “inconsistencies”…and I think the oddities give the rug more motion and silliness!   After all, in my world, Halloween is delightful and fun, with bright colours and magic and creepy things too!

I have tried NOT to be “predictable”…so even when I hooked the tiny 2-row border, I used a wool that I haven’t used in the rest of the rug!   I was told, when I first started hooking, that I should NEVER use a colour or a wool in my border that was not used in the rest of the rug!!!!    So, of course, I did..!!!   I have lightened the photo a bit so you can see the colours better…but it is bright…!!!

So here is the “Halloween Friends & Fun” Mystery Rug-Finished on Day 19…I hope you have enjoyed this adventure with me and I’ll be designing another rug after resting a bit.   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

HF&FmysteryrugFINISHEDday 19

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

16 thoughts on “July 2014 Halloween Friends and Fun-mystery rug/Sunnie/ FINISHED!”

  1. Witchy Poo! Your rug is fabulous! What fun you must of had hooking this. I am usually not a “bright” color person, but I love this.

  2. Oh my gosh Sunnie, your Halloween rug looks fantastic and like you said, well balanced. I would have never guessed that the pumpkin had limbs, very cleaver.
    It’s a lovely design and I love the colors. You do beautiful work…

    Now I hope that you rest your fingers for at lease one day. I’m taking the rest of the day off tomorrow after my morning chores and I’m going to the lake.

    have a great Sunday.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you, Julia!!! It really was so enjoyable to do and no stress and pressure because you can do anything on a Halloween rug!!!!! Thank you for coming along on these adventures!!! Hugs, Sunnnie 🙂

  3. This is my first watch of your mystery rugs, and ha fun time along the way!! Love the way it turned out! Please advise me about the Portland hookin that you mentioned a few weeks ago. We leave tomorrow heading west!
    Toni jette

    1. Thank you Toni…I loved doing it! I replied to your inquiry about the Portland Hook In already…I’ll go look for my reply and put it here again tomorrow.
      Happy Hooking…and traveling! Sunnie 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Robbie…I am glad you are with me on these adventures!!!
      : )
      I’m not sure, but I THINK I have decided on my next rug!!!!! I need a little more “thinking time” and checking out some other designs but what I’m considering would be great fun!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. Sunnie, Once more you brought some brightness into a blah rainy day. However, I miss the crazy orange stockings you showed a peak of earlier. But somehow, you always bring it together.
    trisha

    1. Hi Trisha…thanks so much..! The crazy orange stockings with the purple shorts are on the Pumpkin guy!!!!! When I posted them, they could have been on the witch (because I didn’t show you the pumpkin guy OR the witch legs until the finish!!!) but they were on the little fat pumpkin!!!!! lol
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  5. this would be PERFECT for the october vermont rug show!
    this will definitely catch everyone’s eye…maybe quite a few
    votes from the viewing crowd! think about it…it’s absolutely wonderful!!! tom

Leave a Reply

