Halloween Rug edge finishing-extra/Sunnie/rug hooking-New Rug Soon

 

Hooray…I think I have decided on my next mystery rug!!!  🙂

If it is the one I think I’ll do, it would have the theme of a Russian proverb,  motifs adapted from some vintage public domain German designs with additions of Swedish and/or American folk art…!!!!

A more primitive design with more subdued colours.

_______________________________________________________________

Halloween Friends and Fun – edge

I thought you might be interested in seeing how I finished the edge of this rug.   🙂

I had a ball of variegated yarn (I’m not sure why I bought it…!!!!) and I thought that it would be a good edge for this rug since it adds another colour (colours) to the mix!!!!!   lol

I folded the backing to the front of the rug and basted it in place with needle and thread.   Then, I whipped over the fold all around the rug with the colours in the variegated wool just at random.

So here is the rug all finished except for my label on the back…AND a close-up of the edge.   I think it works!!!!!  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

hallowrrnedgeedgefinishhallow

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “Halloween Rug edge finishing-extra/Sunnie/rug hooking-New Rug Soon”

    1. I must have!!!!! lol … the “predictable” thing would have been to use black for the edge…but I just HAD to try this!!! After all, I could have taken it all out if it looked terrible!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  1. It looks great with multi color whipped edge. So this way, you don’t need to use binding in the back. Cool.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

