New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 3

This one is really a lot of fun to do!!!!!   🙂

As I told you, the 4 motifs in this rug are taken from vintage German illustrations…but the motifs are not shown together in one illustration!

I have combined them for this “mystery” because I thought I could make a story using all of them together in one rug!   lol

I enjoy combining motifs from different places, eras and nationalities to do my rugs!   Pure enjoyment for me!!!

(hint)  It is NOT “Rude Travelers Find Dirty Towels”!!!   lol

You will notice that I have removed the “sweet-colour” coral stripe and changed it to a dull red.   The red goes better with the rest of the wool colours.   Also, I love the background wools…the blue, the gold and the pale tan herringbone stripe I just added yesterday!   Also, the greens I am using for the leaves is making me happy too!!   The green plaid at the bottom does exactly what I want it to do…so I am pleased with that..!

Helen asked about the “Buttermilk Paint blue” and I gave her the information about where to purchase it.   It came from Phyllis at Winterberry Cabin in Vermont...and you will see her wonderful wools on her website!   Just “google” Winterberry  Cabin and you can find her site easily.   She has beautiful hand-dyed wools in yardage and in swatch sets!

So here we go on Day 3…I am really coming along with this one and having a grand time!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

RTFDT mysteryday3RTFDTmysteryday3x

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 3”

Leave a Reply

