New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 7

Zipping right along…this is such fun!!!   🙂

Although I’ve said before that I can’t tell you “Why” I do some things while hooking my rugs, I DO have answers to a few things!!!!   lol

For instance, I have several colours that form the background of this rug…and I choose my colours carefully so that each one will blend in with the others and also show off the main motifs well.   This can be a bit tricky, especially when working with the grayed, primitive colours.   You will note that I outline some things with narrow black and do not outline others.   I want the main motifs outlined to stand out and I want most of the background just to make the colour change softly…just quietly changing from one colour to another.

…continued:

Hagatha’s youngest daughter, the lovely Mildew Smoth, was  very concerned about her mother during this time.    And to make matters worse, Mildew received a notification that there had been a terrible mistake made at the PE B Lab nearby and specimens had been injected, not with the correct formulas but with genetic material from a screech owl, a naughty schoolboy and an opera singer with a very bad cold!   “Mother, Mother”, she shouted over the phone…” I am afraid that you and your neighbors are victims of an experiment gone wrong!!!”  

Mrs. Smoth,upon hearing this news, climbed in and out of several of her windows, holding her head and a handful of oddly shaped twigs (for comfort!).   “I must call my older daughter, the lovely Mold-Ann Smoth”, she cried!   “She will know something to help!!!”   (She is now putting through a call to Mold-Ann…

…to be continued.

So here is Progress on Day 7…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

RTFDTmysteryday7kRTFDTmysteryday7m

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 7”

  1. You’re hilarious Sunnie. Never a dull moment in your corner of the world.
    Your hooking looks great.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Sunnie you are a true gem!. Thanks for posting my rug. Unfortunately, I am locked out of my RHD. Account. It happened when I tried to update my profile. I sent Heidi a message. P.S. I love creative, goofy writing.
    LOL

    1. Thank you Helen!
      Your rug is just wonderful and what an honor to have it Grand Champion and Champion at the fair! We wanted to celebrate your rug on RHD too!!!!

      I’m sure Heidi can help you get back in! Sometimes these glitches just happen…I have a new cell phone (supposedly it is a “smart” phone!!!!) and figuring out how to work the thing is a real challenge!!! lol
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

