New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 14

…Meant to add this to Friday’s post as I knew I wouldn’t be able to hook on Saturday or Sunday this week!!!   Just a little more border finished!   Day 14 addition!!!

RTFDTmysteryday14xx

……………………………………………………………………………………………………

……………………………………………………………………………………………………

 

 

Wow…does this part of the rug take time!!!!   I can work for 2 hours and only get what looks like a small section finished!!!!!!   🙂

However…I really am enjoying this and I at least have the satisfaction of feeling that my decisions along the way were correct.  (at least correct for what I want to do!!!)   lol    I am attempting to have this rug design look like an illustration of a vintage storybook or picture book!

In a book, there would be a few illustrations as the story went along.  

Maybe about 6…showing Mrs Smoth and her funny little house first, and with her electric bill in a small envelope!

  one showing the dark shape in the night with the bright moon and lights on in several houses,

one showing Pond Scum Road and the groggy neighbors with their electric bills in large envelopes,

one showing  Mildew and Mold-Ann, Mrs. Smoth’s lovely daughters’

the one I am working on (the confrontation) which would be the next to last illustration,

and the last one when the situation has been resolved.

I needed to decide how I presented the motifs in this rug as it can be tricky!   There are only 4 main motifs and two of them are “strong” ones.   I have outlined the main one in Black since that is the most important one.

I have used colour to define the second one but did not outline so it does not overshadow the first motif.

The third motif is in the background but it is important to the story too, so I used colours I thought would stand out and look good against the blue sky.

The fourth motif, on the right and on the left (the motif is flipped but not hooked exactly the same!)  “frames” the others.   I had to outline part of these as they pass through backgrounds of similar colour.

I have put my initials into the rug in a way I thought was appropriate!!   lol   As you know, I am trying different ways of putting my initials in the rugs so that they blend in!      (I hope!!)

Continued…

Mrs. Smoth was still sitting outside, clutching her oddly -shaped twig in the afternoon!   She was thinking and often when she was thinking, she missed lunch.   Finally, she got up, climbed back into the house and went to the kitchen.   “I will have lunch,” she thought, “and then take a nap, rest my brain and NOT think about this at all.”   Unfortunately, her lovely daughter, Mildew called on the phone at just that moment and said, “Mama, let’s discuss your problem!”    ” Ahhhhgggggghhh,” cried Mrs. Smoth and promptly fainted.

to be continued…

Here we go on Day 14…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

RTFDTmysteryday14RTFDTmysteryday14x

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/primitive-Day 14”

  1. This rug is quite a mystery. I’m totally clueless this time. It’s too hard for my little brain, lol. What’s a Smoth?
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. IHi Julia…

    “Smoth” is just a funny last name for Hagatha!

    When I do my funny names, I try to use “made-up” names that don’t belong to real people. ( Sometimes, though, real names are funnier than my made-up ones!!!)

    I have always made up funny names and I thought Smoth would go well with Hagatha, Mildew and Mold-Ann!!! I love plays on words too! lol
    It just adds to the silliness…!

    I’m going to do a rug someday showing people with all the silly names that I’ve thought up and that are out there…thought up by others! It would be great fun!
    (would probably drive everyone crazy!!!!)

    Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

