New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/Almost finished-Day 17

Here we go again!!!!!   🙂

Hagatha Smoth and the Nighttime Noises-continued.

Now I must say that it was not really the fault of the “Source of the Noise”, as the Source was just doing what roosters do!   But adding the sounds of the screech owl, the fingernails on the blackboard and the coughing and croaking of the opera singer with a cold made the loud noise so much worse!   Night is falling once again on Pond Scum Road…and even the bright moon and stars offer no help.   What to do, What to do?

Looking out the window at nightfall, Mrs. Smoth suddenly held her hands to her head and shouted, “Dearie me!   “Oh, Dearie Me!   The bright moon is part of the terrible problem we are having.   I know it, I just know it!”   Grabbing a handful of oddly-shaped twigs (for comfort) she climbed in and out of her windows a few times and then sat on the floor to rest.   “I just knew from the dark shape that it was an oversized rooster”!, she said.

Calmed by the handful of oddly-shaped twigs, Mrs. Smoth sat on the floor and started to think logically.   “Could I set a trap for the large dark shape?”, she muttered to herself.   Given her house distance from Pond Scum Road, she decided it wasn’t possible to set a trap.   She decided that a sign saying “No Roosters Allowed” wouldn’t work either as reading in the dark wasn’t easy.   She looked sadly at the pile of electric bills in large envelopes.   “I guess it is just up to me and my rolling pin”, she moaned.

As Mrs. Smoth sat on her floor holding her oddly-shaped twigs and moaning she suddenly had a brain wave!   After her lovely daughter Mold-Ann reminded her of Great Grandma Prunenita’s saying, Mrs. Smoth knew what the dark shape WAS…but she did not know why it was so noisy at night.   Finally, she knew for sure why the bright moon was important and she knew exactly what she had to do!.   “Oh dearie me”, she sighed.   “I am really going to have to threaten this large rooster with violence and I don’t want to… but it is the only way!”    (Hagatha was really a rather pleasant old lady (although odd!!!) who disliked violence of any kind and also disliked squash!)

Thankfully, she had the support of her two lovely daughters, Mildew and Mold-Ann, as well as that of her groggy and sleep-deprived neighbors.  ” I really hope that I don’t have to give a great whack to the large rooster”, she said.   It is not the best way to get the new feather duster that I really need.   She climbed out of the nearest window and picked up a very oddly-shaped twig to calm her down.

…Conclusion tomorrow on Day 18!  

______________________________________________________________

This one has been great fun…!!!

and now, we see the confrontation beside the Pond Scum road!!!      Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

RTFDTmysteryday17

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New RTFDT Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/Almost finished-Day 17”

  1. I’m so glad your almost finished this mystery rug. I’m getting more curious with each passing day and I’m not usually a curious person, lol. Your silly story is very entertaining.
    Happy hooking.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

