“Rooster Today, Feather Duster Tomorrow” mystery/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 18 Finished!

 

Hooray!!!   “Rooster Today, Feather Duster Tomorrow” Mystery rug is finished on Day 18!   🙂

This is a Russian proverb…there are several about roosters.

I have enjoyed this rug so much but I certainly will allow more time on the next rug of this size!!!!!   (38 1/2 x 31 1/2 )  I had some 8-hour plus hooking days on this one…and my reunion in between!!!!

I wanted to make this rug look like an old fashioned book illustration…and I am happy with the way it turned out..!    Thank you for joining me on this adventure!!!

“Mrs. Smoth and the Nighttime Noises”…conclusion

Mrs. Smoth was still sitting outside, clutching her oddly-shaped twig in the afternoon.   She was thinking and often when she was thinking, she missed lunch.   Finally she got up, climbed back into the house and went into the kitchen.   “I will have lunch”, she thought, “and then take a nap, rest my brain and NOT think about this at all!”   Unfortunately, her lovely daughter Mildew called on the phone at just that moment and said, “Mama, let’s discuss your problem!”    “Ahhhhhggggghhhhh'” cried Hagatha and promptly fainted!

Mrs. Smoth awakened with her lovely daughter Mold-Ann placing a cold cloth on her head and fanning her with a lampshade.   “Whatever happened, Mother?” said Mold-Ann softly.    “It was just a brain overload, dear”, answered her mother,  “and I am fine now.”   So Mold-Ann climbed out of the window, jumped on her scooter and was off like a shot down Pond Scum Road.

Night fell, the bright moon appeared and the terrible noise began again.   Of course, Mrs. Smoth now understood the problem and had figured out that the oversized rooster, injected with the wrong genetic material, had his brain so scrambled that he was crowing all night at the MOON instead of crowing at sunrise!   In addition to his own crow (that was so loud because of his large size)  he had the sounds of the owl, the naughty boy’s fingernails on the blackboard and the coughing opera singer added to it.   The result, as you know, was disastrous to the residents of Pond Scum Road.

Finally, Mrs. Smoth saw her chance!   Grabbing her rolling pin and her walking stick, she jumped out of the window, ran over the hills to the edge of Pond Scum Road and surprised the large rooster who was loudly crowing away!   The old dame waved her rolling pin in a threatening manner, shouted “Rooster Today, Feather Duster Tomorrow!” and then yelled “I’m going to give you such a whack!!!!!”

The rooster, frightened by the sight of this angry woman with her large rolling pin and doubly frightened at her threat of giving him a whack,  took off running away as fast as he could!   Down Pond Scum Road, out of the state and over the hills and fields and mountains he went until he arrived in Las Vegas where the lights are on all night and the noise is loud too!   He lives there still, happily writing poetry and looking for cute chicks!  

Our story ends on a joyful note…the rooster is happy since he fits into Las Vegas so well,  Mrs. Smoth and her neighbors are happy because they can sleep at night,  although the electric company is Not as happy,  the electric bills now come in very small envelopes to Pond Scum Road’s happy residents,  her lovely daughters, Mildew and Mold-Ann Smoth are happy because they can stop worrying about their mother and get on with life and since the rooster dropped many feathers in his fright and hurry to get away,  her lovely daughters were able to make their mother a delightful new feather duster which made Hagatha very happy too!   (and Hagatha did not have to give that rooster “such a whack” since she dislikes violence of any kind and also dislikes squash)

The End

(you may be wondering about the names of Mrs. Smoth’s daughters…or maybe you are screaming “enough, enough, already!!!!”…  lol)

Surely you remember the lovely sister act, ” Mold-Ann Mildew”…popular with the “happenin” people in the 1960’s!   The girls were trying to make their mark on the hallowed walls of Hollywood until the handsome “Bleach Brothers” (and the handsome “Bleach Boys too!) came along and wiped them out..!!!   lol

__________________________________________________________________________________

Here is the finished rug…Day 18   What fun I’ve had!!!     (I tried putting the comma in the upper left corner box as it should be written (!!) but it just looked out of place…so I just left it out of the rug altogether!!!   And there is Mrs. Smoth’s new feather duster in the border too!   And…lol…I hope that what you can see of Pond Scum Road looks a bit like pond scum!!!!!)

Happy Hooking!  I’ll be deciding upon another rug after a rest…who knows what That will be!!!   Sunnie  🙂

RTFDTFINISHED

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

10 thoughts on ““Rooster Today, Feather Duster Tomorrow” mystery/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 18 Finished!”

  1. A great rug and a great story. I had all kind of notions that there were some little animals in the rug, lol… I’ve never heard of the Russian proverb before today. It was fun following your journey.
    Thanks for being YOU.
    Hugs, JB

    1. Thank you, Julia…I always appreciate your encouragement and acceptance of me for the goofy person I am!!!!! 🙂
      This one was really a fun rug to do!!! I hadn’t heard of the proverb either but was looking for sayings about roosters when I saw this vintage German illustration of a large rooster.
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie, as always your imagination and wonderful sense of humor amaze me! And your hookin ain’t half bad either. I love this rug!

    1. Thank you Deborah…I have had that goofy sense of humor since I was a child..!

      I think my parents thought I was a little odd but they loved me anyway!!!! My “college professor” husband said I was the strangest student he had ever taught..!!! (however, I did very well in college despite that..!) lol

      This was a really fun rug!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  3. Once again Sunnie, you have brought a smile to my face with both your rug and its back story. The originality you show in each rug you hook is outstanding. Please rest up and when you are ready, get those “little gray cells” working. Thanks for brightening my day.
    trisha

Leave a Reply

