New rug design starting next week!/Sunnie/rug hooking-Oh My! :)

Now I Said I was taking a good rest after dealing with Mrs. Smoth and the Rooster…and it is true I am peacefully sitting in my favourite chair, a glass of iced tea at the ready,  looking through my art-craft books, Dover books, my notebooks of designs and my drawings and just letting  my mind wander!   🙂

I had a few new designs in my mind for my next rug…perhaps the second piece from the Book of Kells that I want to do sometime.

Or, the design I saw years ago in a Dover book that was from a Swedish or Norwegian cookie mold.

Or, my design sketched during the period where I was being inspired by old frakturs and samplers…and featuring a shepherdess and sheep.

Or, the “Winter” apartment sign that I want to do so that I have a complete “Seasons” set.

Or even, another 24 x 24 inch angel design adapted from medieval mosaics.

BUT…as so often happens, I saw a few unrelated vintage designs as I was enjoying my “looking at designs and ideas” time…and then the “Aha…that’s IT” moment popped into my brain!!!!!!!  

I love looking at antique needlework, quilts, fraktur, vintage book illustrations, etc. that are in the public domain!   I know I can adapt or be inspired by them and am not infringing upon anyone’s copyright…and searching out these gems is a fun pastime itself!!!

I just don’t know if I can resist doing this one (!!!)…lol…but it means inflicting upon you another large dose of silliness!!!!!   But I am laughing already…and that means a LOT of fun and happiness for me is in store if I do this!

Something else might hit me and I might change my mind before the middle of next week…but as I relax and look at all my possibilities, the silly design keeps popping up!   I find myself thinking about the story behind it, tweaking the images and laughing at the possibilities!!!!!

Fortunately, at my stage of life, I feel perfectly comfortable with appearing foolish (!!!) and I don’t mind “Why can’t she be serious?” comments or those who energetically bang their heads against the wall and shout “No, NO, Not more goofy rugs!!!!”      (Those who are my friends have been known to gently tell others to “just walk away quietly and don’t make eye contact with her.”)   lol

So we will see next week if I have shown the strength to ignore the urge and have decided to do an “Antique Floral” with a large beige background…OR, if I have succumbed to the siren call of silliness once again!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

fowlheadacheC400

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

