New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 3

mysteryday3extraHere is photo of those plaids I am using!!!   See text below!

And here is picture of the blue plaid as it hooks up …without getting the flash close to the wool!   Hope this helps! 

blue plaidddd

 

I was able to use a beautiful blue and brown plaid wool in my hooking today…and also a light green plaid..!  🙂

As you know from previous rugs I have done, I use plaids to give motion and interest to backgrounds and motifs as well.   If I choose a plaid that has the colours in it close in value, it “reads” as a solid, but a solid that has more life (in my opinion!) than a true solid colour.

The blue-brown plaid looks like a “dark” from a distance…but a dark with lighter areas here and there!!!!   Like highlights or shadows in the mix.   The background of this rug is a texture, almost like a herringbone and it is simply used to set off the motifs.   I don’t want it to call attention to itself..!   (you can see the texture in photo 2)

So here is Progress on Day 3…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

We have two photos today!

STRWPmysteryday3x

STRWPmysteryday3

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 3”

  1. Love your backgrounds, using plaids are great. Being a newbie rug hooker I am a little timid about using them, could you show a piece of the plaid beside what you hook so we can all see the before and after? Thanks.

      1. Thanks so much. I will now use more plaids. BTW—-are you coming to Fall Frolic hook-in in Eugene on Oct 9th? Sure would like to meet you in person.

      2. Hi Marie…I would love to come but I am hosting our small hooking group at my home that day! Maybe next year or at another Eugene activity…! I am going to the Autumn in the Northwest hook-in this coming Friday and Saturday in Ridgefield, WA. Would love to meet you also! 🙂
        Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. You’re lucky to have so many plaids. I use mostly recycled wool in my hooking ( when I hook) that I can get my hands on but I rarely find some nice plaids to add to my stash and I have more wool than I’ll ever use already so I don’t buy wool any more. It makes motion and adds interest to the background like you said.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…I had so much wool after moving from Vermont that I have a good selection of plaids! And I do buy more (!!!)… but instead of buying “yards” of wool, I get 1/2 yd or fat quarters if I see something I like!!!! lol
      I love plaids!!!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

