New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

I’m having more and more fun every day with this one!   🙂

I like to say that my drawn “patterns” on the linen backing are just pattern “suggestions”…and not written-in-stone designs.   For instance, I drew a small pattern in the right and left borders, but now that I am working on the center on the rug and going up one side, the border motifs are unnecessary because of the “strength” of the motifs I am hooking in the center.  

Also, I cut several leaf shapes out of paper and pinned them to the backing (I clothespin my backing to a board so I can sit back and look at it from a distance).   I had first decided that the leaves around the center of the rug would be rather “flowy, wispy, wavy” leaves…drooping in and over the main figures.   But as so often happens, I came to feel that larger, chunkier, bigger leaves would be better…so I just drew over the “wispys” and made the leaves you are seeing in these photos!   Now it would be perfectly fine to have used the wispy, droopy leaves…but I thought the larger ones fit in this rug.   I can’t explain why…I just Know they are better for this rug!!!   🙂

As you know, part of my enjoyment is presenting things in a way that is the opposite of what would be “normal”!!   (No one has accused Me of being “normal”!!)   lol   For instance, if I were designing a ballerina, I might have her very slim and willowy in a beautiful costume but have her wearing ballet shoes that look like army boots.   Large, clunky shoes with the laces tied up her legs just like the lovely ballet shoes we wore for dancing “on pointe”.    Now you are thinking…” why would anyone in their right mind do a thing like that?”   If I found it funny and enjoyable to hook…and if someone else also got a laugh out of it…that’s good enough for me!!!     I remember those ballet classes…I enjoyed them and all the dancing classes I took as a young girl.     Great fun!

I am off to a “hook-In” today so will be having a wonderful time I am sure!

Here is Progress on Day 5…

STRWPmysteryday5

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

  1. You’ve developed your own personal style and I like that about you. I love your leaves.

    You must have been a privileged child to have had ballet classes in your youth. When I was young I wanted to take piano lessons given by the Sisters at the convent for $5.00 a week and my family couldn’t afford it as my older sister was taking typing lessons for $5.00 a week. In those days it was a lot of money especially when poor. I understood it wasn’t to be. My dream was shattered and I moved on to reality. Maybe that why my rugs have more reality in them, or maybe it’s just my personality that I don’t have fantasy in my rugs.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Julia, your rugs are realistic, sensitive and beautiful…and you know where you are going to land when you” pilot your boat through the waters”…so to speak!

      And I just jump into the boat and go where the water current takes me…and I don’t really know where I will land…!!! lol (I like surprises!)

      When I was young, I thought we were “rich” because I had the opportunity to have piano and ballet lessons, lots of books (!!) and was happy with anything I received as gifts, etc. Of course, when I was older I realized that we were probably “lower middle class”…but our family was happy and healthy and I felt loved every minute of every day.
      I’ve said before that my father thought my “active imagination” and creative thinking was a bit odd, but he loved me anyway! And Mom understood art and craft because she did cross stitch, knitting, needlepoint, sewing, etc. so we got along just fine! 🙂
      I learned to read at an early age, before I went to kindergarten, and I am a “speed reader”…so I read lots of fairy tales, fantasy, art and craft books, etc. as a child and that certainly added to my creative life!

      I enjoy rug hooking so much because all of us can work in different ways and make wonderful pieces that we (and others) enjoy!

      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie, there’s something very special about you, not only your rugs. I’m so glad we are both individual and have become good cyber friends.

    We were poor as church mice when I was young but we felt loved too and that has stayed with me.

    I agree that rug hooking is a wonderful art that we can all share and I’m amazed at the talent out there, it’s also healing.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

