New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8

Extra NOTE:   Julia has just mentioned another interesting tip that you might like to use!   The plaid I am using in this rug background has the cut strips used at random.   I just toss them in a pile and use them as they come!!

However,  in some of the plaids I use, I set aside the lighter parts of the plaid (or the darker parts!!!) and use them either to outline the motifs or to add highlights, etc.    It makes for a nice transition as the colours blend so well.     (Julia is a rug hooker who does lovely fine cut rugs, portraits, etc.   I have learned a lot from her and always enjoy her encouragement and comments!)

 

I spent quite a while yesterday filling in background and doing some motifs!   🙂

STRWPmysteryday8woolplaid929

This new wool that I am using on the photo above (the brown plaid) in the lower right corner is the plaid on the right.   The lighting looks a bit “off” on the plaid picture as my flash is closer to it than the rug picture…but you can see that it has a higher contrast between the colours used and it makes for a brown, “pebbley” texture when hooked.

 

STRWPmysteryday8xI am filling in more of this section of the rug and will work on more today!   As you already know, all of these wools, the blue, the gold and the brown in this photo are all plaids!   The red is not..!   lol

I will also work on a couple of the places that you can’t see yet…but most of the left side of the rug is now filled in except for the upper and lower border.

By the way…another question I’ve been asked is …”When you hook with several different strip widths, do you pull them all up to the same height? “

I know that we are taught (and it’s a good tip) to pull the strip to the same height as the strip is wide.   However, since I use several different strip widths…usually #6, #5, #4, and #3 cuts…I pull up all my strips to the #6 height so the rug will be even.   If I were doing a wall piece, I could have all different heights of hooking and it wouldn’t matter at all.   I might even like the different effect very much..!!! 

I’m having a great time and can’t wait to get to my hooking frame each day..!!!!!   That’s how I like to work!  lol   Hope you are having a very pleasant day!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8”

  1. I love that background. I was wondering if you use only the lighter strips of plaid in the background or are you using the darker strips for shading or defining some areas?
    Just curious.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

