New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9

Here we go!!!     Quick post today!   🙂

The first two photos show the 2 plaids too close in value to have a good contrast…so I used the red with a black outline instead..!

STRWPmysteryday9STRWPmysteryday9b

The next photo shows the paper cutouts I had considered using at first.    I changed them and drew the larger, chunkier leaves instead!

STRWPmysteryday9xx   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 9”

  1. I love the folded cut out idea for the border. I still can’t come up with any idea that I care to hook. I’m in a stall mode and nothing tickles my fancy… I might hook a crazy rug too. lol
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Hi Julia…I use a lot of “papercutting” to try out ideas for border shapes and motifs too! I use junk mail, newspaper, used copy paper, etc. and it helps me to “visualize” what I am doing or going to do.
    I liked the border papercutting but, as I said, I found it didn’t work as well when I changed the wispy leaves to chunky!!!! lol

    How about a crazy rug for your grandchildren and great-grandchild…all of them riding a purple dragon or in a wacky Train…!!!!! lol

    Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

