New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day11

Here we go…!!!  

By the way, this rug is a  28 x 43 inch rug with large motifs…so it takes me quite a while to hook each part and the background around the different parts!!!   lol

Here is the “redone” part (on the left photo) that now has no problem and needs no black dividing colour!!   STRWPmysteryday11xThe string on the red is extra!!!   lol

And we have another leg almost finished!!!   I will do the boot today and Dr. Sopwortt will have legs and feet..!!!   Hooray!

STRWPmysteryday11bbAlso, I’ll do the ground under this foot so he’ll have something to stand on!!!

Sir Willifried’s hooking isn’t even started yet…so we’ll see the type of clothing HE has chosen to wear later on.

The boot trim (the black) is a solid colour as I did not want any “shadings” in this area.

One of the things that this rug will show is the difference between solid colour wool and plaids when hooked.   Now I will exaggerate this difference to suit my purposes here but I think you will see why I choose a lot of plaids to work with….as it suits my “folk art” style!

    Rug hookers working with fine cuts often use the solid colours in different values to achieve beautiful shading…like in the petals of flowers or in a portrait.

 I am using #6 cut and #4 cut in almost everything so far except for the tiny black outline used when needed.   I just cut a tiny width off of one of my strips for that.

My cold seems to be better so I’ll continue the hot tea with lemon and honey routine, rest and just hook away!   Hope any colds You have will be much better today!!!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day11”

  1. So it was a knee after all, lol…
    I love your fancy boot design.
    I’m glad your cold is getting better. I still have a lot of phlegm and still cough to clear it up , otherwise I feel much better too.

    I’m still pulling ceramic molds from the basement up to the garage but it’s nearing the end. I’ll be glad when I’m done.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Glad you are feeling better!! Colds are no fun!!!!!

      I had to get rid of a LOT of stuff when moving from Vermont. I know how tiring it is to get things cleaned out..! I’m going through more paperwork off and on here too.

      I’m having fun with the clothing these guys “chose” to wear!!! (I wouldn’t show MY face in public with these outfits…but I guess the “famous authors” have different ideas!!!!) lol
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

