New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 12

I am having such fun with this rug!!!   It may be one of my “all time” favourites!!!!!   🙂

At the latest hook-in, someone asked me how I “think up these things”!   lol   I think I have said before that designs just pop into my mind quite often.   But I think the real answer is this…like many others,  I have one of those brains that can quickly combine art and craft that I see or draw or think about into something different and new…often with a touch of humour or silliness or whimsy!   Like taking these designs from an old sampler, an ancient mosaic, a vintage painting and a public domain fantasy design, reworking them and combining them into a rug.

pix1pix2pix3pix4

I have told you that I read and look through books extensively…especially those on vintage decorative art, wood craft, textiles, ancient mosaics, weaving, paintings, woodcuts, drawings, etc.   I also sketch my own designs often and put these scribbles into notebooks so I can look through them for ideas for a new rug as well.    I change and refine and adjust and then, the rug hooking starts and I am having fun reworking and creating as I go along!   It is a wonderful way to work…with no stress and no worry…just pure fun and enjoyment.   (I’ve said before that I have no fear of looking foolish, stupid or overly silly…I just enjoy what I do and if others enjoy them too, that is an extra bonus for me!!!!)   🙂

I have read books since before entering Kindergarten…and creative ideas have been swirling around in my mind ever since!    When you have a mind full of design and silliness that has been with you for at least 70 years…you have a Lot of “stuff” to play with!!!!   lol

Here is Progress on Day 12…Dr. Sopwortt has legs!!!!   Hooray!   And some ground to stand on!   (the green on the right is a dyed, mottled, wool)     May you all have a delightful day today doing whatever it is you want to do!!!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

STRWPday12

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 12”

  1. I can tell he’s going to be spectacular. I can’t wait to see the rest of his physics. lol…

    I didn’t do as I planned today. I took care of my sick granddaughter and her little toddler and did her laundry and made a big pot of soup to share when I took them back home before going to the barn but I enjoyed ever minutes of it.
    I’m learning to go with the flow instead of being disappointed. It’s really true that it’s more blessed to give than to receive. I like to make a difference in people’s lives. The soup was good.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I think you are wise, Julia.. to make the best out of a situation. 🙂

      .I like to ask myself if being mad or crabby or disappointed or grumpy if things don’t go as I planned makes the situation better!!! In almost every case, it doesn’t help at all and can make the situation worse!!! So I think you have the right idea to make the best of things even if it has muddled up your plans. And making soup is always a good idea!!! lol
      You are a good cook and caregiver and I know your family appreciates it and your friends do too!!!! We learn from you and try to be kind, encouraging and helpful to others ourselves!

      Tomorrow, Sir Willifried will have some clothing on…at least it is a start..!!!!! lol
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

