New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 20

I feel better today so feel like I am on the mend..!!!   🙂

As I’ve said before while doing this rug, it is more of a challenge than I thought it would be!    After all these years of rug hooking (9), I have confidence in my ability to work with colour and with plaids!  

    For the last several years I have done rugs that have been designed “on the go” and have had a minimal amount of colour planning at the start.   For the most part, they are easy for me!!!    But this design, although rather easy at the start, has proved a bit more tricky as I get to the right side of the rug!

I need to be sure to balance the rug, both with the size of the motifs and the colours used.   His leather satchel needed to look a bit faded with use….and needed to be outlined or it would not show up on the background.

I have to be sure to choose wools that are all in the same “grayed” or “softened” range…and the colours must not be sweet or bright or draw undue attention to themselves. 

However, the two men are rather large, and I want Dr. Sopwortt and Sir Willifried to be dressed in colours that go well together and are pleasing next to each other…but they can’t completely take over the rug!   …lol…

The rug focus needs to be entirely different from everything else as the joke depends upon it…!!!   There must be a complete departure from the rest of the rug…both in colour and in motif.

After deciding to take the digging fork or trowel from Sir Willifried, I am fine with the “vague” book or container that he holds, but that left a gap to be filled in above one shoulder where the fork tines or trowel head would have been.

I had decided to put a butterfly on his shoulder, but realized before starting to hook there that a butterfly would either be too colourful, too fancy or too dull…so I changed to a little bird.   Even the blue and the beak on the bird may have to be changed as I get the background hooked around it and see if the bird draws the eye to the upper part of the rug too much.   The focus must be on the rug center!!!   🙂

When I first saw the vintage images that were adapted for this piece, I was looking at “hunting” scenes with dogs and horses, men with guns and/or spears, etc.   and I am not remotely interested in hunting scenes!!!!!!!!    …lol…

But then the idea for this rug popped into my mind and I felt I could adapt a couple of the men for my silly authors!

So here is the Progress on Day 20… I felt like hooking some today so I am glad to get more of the rug done.

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

STRWPmysteryday20

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 20”

  1. I’m glad that you’re feeling better and are back at hooking more comfortably.

    I love what you did with the satchel. It looks very nice.
    You sure have an analytical eye for details. I’m sure this is going to look spectacular.

    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I’m feeling even better this morning…still a bit “fragile” and I still have the cough but I don’t sound like I am ready to die any minute!!!!!!! Thank goodness!!! 🙂

      I try to learn a lot with each rug that I do…and this one is really helping me learn more about balance and focus. I’m thinking about another experiment that might be fun to do in a future rug!!!!

      Also, I have decided to do a series of small pieces to use up those pesky woolworms!!!!! I was going to do this years ago, after hooking the “Fowl Headache” piece for a Gallery show. I didn’t get around to doing it then but I’m going to start now.
      The “EEK, the garden’s been bugged” piece is the start of this “hooked graffiti” that will feature a lot of goofy characters!

      Some day, I will run out of silliness but not any time soon, I’m afraid..!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

