New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 23

Today I am showing (stretched on the frame) the upper LEFT part of the rug border!   🙂   (having trouble knowing my right and left..!!!!)   …lol…

Even though the rug border is the same background colour all around…and the same colour as the center background is used for the lettering (!!!), I find it rather soothing to work on.   It really isn’t boring (I am almost Never bored!!!!)   …lol…but it can be tiring as it takes quite a long time to hook. 

  Remember, this is a 28 inch by 43 inch rug, and in order to get the effect I want, there is a lot of thinking and “deciding” involved.   You will recall that I started this rug with the choice of a light background, the assorted greens for the grass below Dr. Sopwortt’s feet and his brown boots.   Everything else was decided as I went along.  

I chose colours that worked well together and did what I wanted them to do.   If I made a mistake here and there, I was able to look carefully at the rug from a distance (both in daylight and with evening lamplight) and fix the problems.   There was some redesigning involved, mostly with Sir Willifried and the motifs around him.

I had the idea that I wanted the focus motif to “glow” in the rug center…and I believe that I have chosen the colours that give a glowing effect.   I know that to those of you following my progress, it is simply a “person hooking a rug”!!!   🙂   But as you know from previous rugs, I am teaching myself things,  experimenting with colours and working on the plays on words and oddities that are pleasing for me as I do this design.

The faces are not yet hooked…and I am excited to see what these guys look like after spending a lot of time with them for 23 days!!!!!   …lol…   But you know how I like surprises!

So here is Progress on Day 23…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

STRWPmysteryday23

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 23”

  1. I find it odd that you leave the face for later. I guess you want it to be a mystery for you too. lol. The face is usually the first thing I hook and it was the same when I painted a ceramic figurine, I started with the eyes and then it seemed that I had a real person that I could relate to and went from there.

    You’ve got a lot done Sunnie.

    Happy Hooking,
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. You are right, Julia…I think people have told me and I have read guides from teachers saying to hook the eyes and the face first and then you have the “real person” to relate to!!!! 🙂
      But I already know these guys in my mind, and when I start at the bottom of a rug and work up, the faces can be the last things in a figure that I do.

      Sometimes, I am working on the faces at the same time as other parts of the rug but I don’t let you see them!!!! …lol… But this time, I decided to leave them until I am working on the top of the rug center to see if they turn out like I think they will…!!!!!
      Yes…I DO like to be surprised…and I am experimenting more and more as I am coming to my 10th year of hooking in 2015!

      I am excited to see the new portrait you will be working on…it sounds lovely!!1
      Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

