New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/start of the finish-Day 29!

 

Well as I’ve said, “Life” intervenes sometimes in my rug hooking world but mine was nice family time…so I was happy to see family here in the Portland Oregon area!   Visiting from California was one of my grandsons and his wife this weekend!   🙂

Now for the STRWP Mystery Rug…

I am working on parts of the rug that you can’t see and parts of the border with that green plaid (!!!) that you have seen a lot of already!!!!   …lol…        But I am getting close to the finish of this piece and have had a great time on my learning adventure!

I’ll have to explain one of the words on the name of this rug because most people who are not rug hookers won’t “get” the joke!  

The letter “P” in the rug title refers to the word “PADULA”.

Pearl McGown, one of the grand old ladies of rug hooking,  “invented” the word, Padula, to describe a make-believe flower.   One only existing in the mind of the designer or hooker…it does not exist in the real world!  

Here is a picture of “padulas”…you know they are meant to be flowers but are certainly not realistic!   They are Everywhere…especially in primitive rugs!

pmotifsmysteryDay29

As you know, in the story of this silly rug, Dr. Sopwortt and Sir Willifried are “famous” authors and are on an adventure, the story of which they will present to the world as the “…crowning achievement of their illustrious careers”!   I found it amusing that these two great adventurers would be involved in the pursuit of something that only exists in their own minds…and not in the real world..!   Like people going on a world trip in pursuit of something that exists only on their back patio!

(It is interesting that the word “padula” is defined in the “real world” as coming from the southern Italian, an adaptation of the word “palude” meaning swamp!   In Polish, the term refers to an adaptation of the word, “padac” meaning to be unsteady on one’s feet or to fall down!)

I’ve said all along that I am challenging myself on this rug…having only the two or three colours I chose at the beginning to guide me and having ideas in my mind about using inconsistencies in my designing!   …lol…   Julia mentioned the “vaguely tropical-looking leaves” in the piece…yet I dressed the guys in heavy woolen clothing, completely wrong for that climate!   Dr. Sopwortt is dressed in a rather “medieval peasant”  outfit with his red woolen long underwear showing and Sir Willifried is enveloped in knickers, coat, wool knee sox, etc. (rather “olde English”)

I told you that I met Dr. Sopwortt for the first time as I completed his face a couple of days ago.   Sir Willifried is a bit trickier!!!   I wanted Dr. Sopwortt to be a sturdy, “bear” of a man and I want Sir Willifried to resemble a rather kindly rodent..!!!!   His face is beginning to come alive and I hope when he is finished I will have a rather pleasant mousy person.   They are not animals…I just had this idea that they might be described that way!!!

Here is a bit more of what I can show…as you can see…it is not especially thrilling!!!!!!!   …lol…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂   Oh yes, I can’t remember if I told you that I outline the motifs with the background plaid and hook the rest in “squiggles” to get a “pebbly” look for the background.

STRWPmysteryDay29

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New STRWP Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/start of the finish-Day 29!”

  1. You really have gotten a lot done since you’re almost finished. I’m getting antsier with each passing day. lol…

    I’ve been so very busy this late fall so my hooking has really suffered but I’m sure I’ll eventually get hooking again. I don’t live a life of leisure but I finally got some wool dyed this weekend. I still need to trace my design on the backing and I need to do it in daylight on the window but It’s always dark now when I finish work.

    I’ve had calves born every day lately and I’m expecting another on by morning. Cleaning calf pens and moving calves in larger pens has been a big priority and tonight I’m tired to the bones.
    Happy Hooking Sunnie. I really want to meet those gentlemen. They must be a hooker’s dream, lol…

    Hugs

    1. I am always amazed at everything you get done, Julia!!!!!
      Most “normal” people (!!!) have regular chores and other people to take care of…besides working either at home or away. But, of course, I have no responsibilities except for the cat..! so I can spend my day hooking if I wish…it means that I get rugs finished faster than most people can do!!! …lol…

      This rug would probably have taken me about 2-3 months to do if I had even modest commitments…but now I should be finished soon! Just gotta get Sir Willifried’s face right…and that border…and that background!!!!
      Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

