“Stalking The Rare Wild Padula” Mystery Rug/Sunnie/Day 31-FINISHED

Hooray!!!   I pulled the last loops about 30 minutes ago and am now ready to post the results!   🙂

I’ve had such fun and I thank you for being with me on this adventure!   I explained some of the whimsy behind this rug earlier and I wanted to let you know why I chose the word “stalking” rather than “hunting” which was my first thought.  

    Stalking implies that you are following or making contact with the person/object in some way…and since the “padula” flower lives only in the mind of the designer, you would have to be stalking yourself..!   …lol…   Also, stalking could imply that the flower itself was moving…and that amused me too.   As I told you yesterday, padulas are not “rare” as they are everywhere!!  But they can be wild…I think mine is!!!   I love the guys and think of them as “old friends” by now, even though we just met a few days ago when I hooked the faces!!   So I am delighted to have the rug turn out just like my mental “vision”!  

                     —————-Here is the story for those who have not already read it…

“STALKING THE RARE WILD PADULA!”

This rug features the well-known personages, Sir Willifried Eggburt Whiffles and Dr. Horatio Ponsenbee Sopwortt.    The glorious books written by both authors have made awe-inspiring contributions to the higher echelons of knowledge in the areas of botany, dendrology, fertilizing and composting.

You will no doubt remember Sir Willifried’s splendid tomes:

“Barking Up The Wrong Tree”

“Leaf Me Alone” and

“Fabulous Saps I Have Known”

Many scholars have lost themselves in the intensive research notes provided to them by the author.   Some of them are still lost.

Known around the world for his ability to turn a phrase, Dr. Sopwortt’s book is truly a masterpiece!   

       ” Stepping Into The Wonderful World of Manure” is a majestic “coffee table” book with many glorious brown-toned photos!    The chapter on , “Is it cow pats, cow chips or cow pies…?”  is especially thrilling!    (a small pamphlet is included with this superb book giving jolly tips and hints for cleaning boots, shoes, sandals and bare feet…another thoughtful presentation by Dr. Sopwortt.)

However, the best is yet to come!   These two giants of the literary world are collaborating on a book that will become, no doubt,  the crowning achievement of their illustrious careers.   They have set out to capture a Padula and, if successful, the resulting book will be called…”Stalking The Rare Wild Padula!”  

So here are the aforementioned gentlemen adventurers…happy and proud to have been successful in reaching their goal.   After all…if you are going to search the world for something that is in your own mind, it is good to have a friend with you!!!!!      …lol…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂 

(photo is cropped a bit close to the lettering but that won’t bother you, I trust…!)

STRWPmysteryday31

STRWPmysteryday31z

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

8 thoughts on ““Stalking The Rare Wild Padula” Mystery Rug/Sunnie/Day 31-FINISHED”

  1. I LOVE this rug! wonderful expressions on your guys and the padula steals the show – what colors! I think this might be my favorite of all the rugs you have done!

  2. Oh my Sunnie, this one belongs in Celebration magazine… I love it and the story is brilliant. I bet you were taken to new heights with this one and for good reason. The colors are perfect.
    I’m so impressed.
    Hugs,
    JB

  3. Thank you ladies!!! I loved doing this rug and figuring the design and colours out bit by bit…!!! …lol… If I ever write a book about my hooked creations, this has got to be the cover!!!! 🙂
    I will try doing other designs in this way now that I am more comfortable with it. I will say that it took a LOT of “thinking about” the next move before continuing on to the next part of or whole motif..!!!!! And Sir Willifried’s face took a lot of “tweaking” before he came alive! I imagine him as a skinny guy (under all those puffy clothes!!!) with a squeaky voice and a “chattery” personality! And Dr. Sopwortt seems like a bulky guy with a slower, easygoing manner and a deep voice!!! …lol…

    Maybe the “guys” will be of help in my future rugs!!!! They can give me advice…after all, they are famous authors!!!!
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. Sunnie… This is such a fun piece, and I enjoyed seeing your progress as you went along. I think your goal of keeping the Paula the focus of the rug really stands out. Well done!

Leave a Reply

