New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1

I just remembered a couple of other things I was going to mention today!   (brain slowed by wool dust..!!!!)   🙂

When I drew this latest rug pattern, I thought I might use a #3 or very narrow cut of wool strip to do a lot of the piece.   However, I changed my mind before starting the rug so it meant that, using #4, #5 and #6, I needed to redraw some of the areas where the lines of the motifs were too close to each other.   For newer rug hookers, if you are using a vintage, permission-free postcard or drawing as a design for a rug, you might have to leave some parts out or redraw them to fit.   Simply narrowing a leaf a bit or taking out that tiny flower sticking out of a bouquet can help!!!!   It does not change the pattern in any drastic way but makes it possible for you to use a wider strip to hook the rug!

Another hint…if you aren’t sure about how much space you need between motifs, simply hook a line of background around that leaf drawing on your backing…and then look at how close the dog’s ear is to that leaf.   If it doesn’t look right and you need another line of background to separate the motifs, simply narrow the leaf (or reposition it) and redraw the ear a little so you have the motifs apart enough to look good .   You can also cut your background strips a bit narrower…and you are on your way!!!   Stand back and observe your design and don’t be afraid to tweak it to suit yourself..!!!!   (and, of course, if you love the original but would rather have a skunk in place of the turkey riding in that boat…make it a skunk!!!!!!!)   …lol…

Well…here we go!   This rug takes very little thought and just takes fun hooking!!!!   I need that after the “Padula” rug!!!!!   🙂 I’m going through my wools looking for leftovers and hand-dyed pieces that I haven’t used for a long time.   And although I have a bit of the light yellow wool, I’ll have to buy or “marry” some wools to get enough for my background.   But that’s no problem!   Nothing like starting a rug when you already Know you don’t have enough wool!!!!   …lol… So here is Progress on Day 1…I’m already having fun!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂 BBBmysteryday1

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 1”

  1. That’s a great start Sunnie and even that cute little Padula seems simple to do. Not a rare specimen like the other one, heh.

    Hugs on this Remembrance Day in Canada and Veteran’s Day in the US.
    JB

    1. Hugs to you too, Julia…on this Remembrance and Veteran’s Day. It is good to remember and care for all who have served in the military!

      Yes, this rug is much easier and I can use up a lot of woolworms on these little padulas!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

