New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5

For today’s post I am giving you a couple of pictures but I actually spent more hours hooking and filling in background with the new pale yellow/gold wools I had ordered!   As I told you in the beginning, I had only a small amount of pale gold wool…so I divided it into 4 parts.   That way, I could use it in the four sections of the rug and fill in with the new wool I was ordering. 

    I have said this before…  If you are concerned about having enough wool to complete the background on a project, it is good to divide what you have into 4 parts for the 4 sections of the rug.   Do the first section and see if you have enough for the other 3.   If not, order more of the same wool or choose a “blending” wool close in value to the wool you have.   If you need only a few strips to complete your background, you can use the blending wool to outline all of your motifs!   Just pull out your background wool from around the motifs, use those strips to fill in the background where you need it and outline the motifs with the blending wool.   It will look like you planned it that way!!!!!!   🙂

The first picture isn’t especially thrilling (!!!) but surprise, surprise…another bluebird!!!!!!!!!!!   …lol…

Here is Progress on Day 5…Happy Hooking! Sunnie  🙂     (Brrrr…we’re still cold here but not having the wild weather seen in other locations!!!!)

BBBmysteryday5x

BBBmysteryday5

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

One thought on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 5”

  1. Great advice Sunnie. That’s what I did with my hit and miss rugs as the wool worms were all left over. I kind of divided them so I could spread it around.

    Your little blue birds have invaded your rug. They’re all cute.
    Have fun hooking this weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

