New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 6

Quick post today…I am still filling in some background but managed to get a motif done too!!!   …lol…   I haven’t really had a “title” for this rug…using just a simple identifier of “BBB” so far.   But I will come up with a title before the finish!!!!!   🙂

I have had a question about using other colours in my background.   I told you I was waiting for the new pale yellow-pale gold wool to arrive to fill in the open spaces on my background.   The reason I did not just use other light colours with the same value (like light pinks, lavenders, etc.) is that I don’t want even a hint of another colour behind the motifs here.     ( If you are familiar with Karen Kahle’s work, you know about the beautiful backgrounds she hooks with many colours blending.)

My choice of only the light yellows is simply a personal choice…but I want to use lots of other colours in the motifs on this rug.   So the blending of the yellows makes a more “solid” yellow background…and that is what I want on this piece.

Here is Progress on Day 6…I think I am going along quite quickly here and after working with deeper,  more “primitive” colours on at least 3 of the last 4 rugs I’ve done, it is fun to work with the pastels and “mid-hues” on this one!  

…lol…   this bluebird’s legs & feet look like upside down pitchforks!!!!!!  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

BBBmysteryday6

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 6”

    1. The next bluebird rug I do I should put them all in tutus and ballet shoes!!! …lol…I think I have seen ostrich designs done with ballerina outfits…and hippos too!!!
      Stay tuned for more bluebirds!!!!! (And other stuff!!)
      Hope you are able to rest a bit after all your work…and hope the calves are doing well.
      Happy Hooking!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Hi Claire…I will be happy to tell you my wool sources!

      I have wool from “Heavens to Betsy”, Rebecca Erb, Skip to My Ewe (on Ebay), “Sun and Wind Farm” (and RugHookingWool) on ( Etsy), “the old tattered flag” (Ebay), wool-n-wares (Ebay), my own hand-dyed wools that I brought with me from Vermont, and “quilting acres” (Etsy…just to name a few! 🙂

      Once in awhile I find a piece of wool that is “shreddy” (!!!) in my stash because I used to work almost exclusively in a #8 cut. When I cut these wools in #5 or #6, sometimes they shred..!

      I trust all of the above folks to send me good wools for the #4, #5 and #6 cuts I use almost all the time now…(with some #3 for details).

      I haven’t dyed wool here in Oregon in my apartment because if I had an “overflow” of dye it might mean having to pay for a whole kitchen redo!!!!!!! Yeeeks! But I might try some “casserole dish” dying later on. I have a lot of wools so I need to use up some of what I have…and just order small amounts of wool when I find I need something different for a rug. (Like the pale gold and pale yellow for this background.)

      Frances of Sun and Wind Farm…(and Etsy’s Rug Hooking Wool” shop)… does beautiful hand dyed wools with free shipping in the US.

      I have also ordered from Winterberry Cabin…Phyllis has wonderful wool and does 8-value swatches too!!!
      Also the Dorr Mill Store in New Hampshire has great wools!
      I have ordered wonderful wools from Searsport Rug Hooking in Maine…also the Blue Tulip rug hooking website has some lovely wools.

      Hope this helps!!!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

