New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8

I keep saying that I am always surprised at how much time it takes to fill in background…!   After doing so many rugs since 2005, you would think I would be used to it by now!   But even rugs like this where the motifs take up a lot of the rug, the background still seems to take hours to do.   …lol…   It must be mental..!!!   Maybe I am so interested in the motif I am hooking that I don’t realize the time!!!!!!!   🙂

I think I am being successful in redesigning the motifs to fit properly with each other since I am using the #6, #5, and #4 width strips and not the #3 that I thought I might use when designing this rug.   As I said, the motifs were too close together in my drawing and had to be refined.   But all goes well..!  

Here is Progress on Day 8…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂      (I think I need to tweak the roof on this birdhouse but will see about that after hooking more around it..!)

BBBmysteryday8

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 8”

  1. Sunnie, It’s beginning to look like Bluebird Bed and Breakfast rug,lol.
    Your background may be boring to hook but it’s beautiful.

    Hook on Sweet Girl.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hey Julia…I love that Title..! (I would need to hook a lot more houses for that one!!!) 🙂

      When I did the “identifying” initials for the title I just did BBB for ” Bluebirds, Bluebirds, Bluebirds”..!!!! But I am still thinking about the final title for this one…I think I have a glimmer (!!) but still not sure yet what I’ll call it!

      For my hooking time, I am still wearing my lovely gown and flowers in my hair (!!!!)…although the flowers are starting to droop a bit..! …lol…
      Happy Hooking!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Oh poor you, maybe you’ll have to put a few bluebirds in your hair. Stay sweet.
        We missed the storm but it cold although sunny today.
        Hugs,
        JB

Leave a Reply

