New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 11

Zipping right along!  I haven’t talked a lot about my goals on this rug since it is not the…”hours of pondering, deciding and staring at the piece”!!!!!!    🙂

Certainly not the “Padula” rug where I was deciding on colours just when I needed them to start another motif!

This design is teaching me about weight and balance on the left and right sides of the rug.   The colour choices are easy as I had them mostly picked out at the beginning!   But when I thought about this design, I could have done it in several ways.   However, this is how it popped into my head…so I am attempting to keep that weight and balance on both sides of the piece (very different designs) in both motifs and in colour balancing.

One of the nice things about being willing to be surprised on these “not realistic” folk art rugs is having a neat idea just come into your mind as you are in the middle of hooking.   As I looked at part of the rug that I can’t show you, I immediately saw a little thing I could do that means something to me but when I explain it at the finish to you, you might think it is not important at all…!!!!   …lol…   But it is attention to detail that I like in my work…even though it is not realistic.

Another thing that can be helpful if you are designing your own rug is to look at the design carefully and see if you could make it more interesting by flipping it over from right to left…or putting that tree in the middle of the rug rather than on one side and have two hippos instead of one under the tree….a symmetrical approach.       It can go the other way too.   If you have a design with the tree in the middle and the two hippos on either side, look and see if your design is more exciting if you focus on one tree and one hippo!   🙂

I am really enjoying this piece and all the leaves and bluebirds!!!   Would you believe there are more coming???   But not today!!!!   …lol…

Here is Progress on Day 11…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

BBmysteryday11

BBBmysteryday11z

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 11”

Leave a Reply

