New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 14

 

Hooray…I was able to do a lot of hooking today but not too exciting for you!!!!   🙂

I decided on a border and hooked the entire left side border with a new brown and the same wool I used for the lettering on the “Rooster Today” rug!  

I had thought about using a “sweet” colour but decided to use something that would frame the center without distracting from it.   So the 2 border colours are more primitive and subdued.   The outer brown is a different plaid than the browns used on the tree and the light plaid with little flecks of colour in it (see the plaid picture shown on the “Rooster” rug posts) has a rather dirty white-ish , gray-ish background.  

When the plaid is hooked up, it has little streaks of colour that look rather odd close up.  But “oddness” never stops me!!!   🙂

Now the description of the wools sounds really ugly!   …lol…   but it really isn’t as bad as it sounds!   I hope you will agree when you see the entire rug at the finish.   And I can always change direction…it is not written in stone!

I also finished my initials using colours from the birds and flowers.   I filled in a little more background too.   Actually, the “rooster” plaid picks up some of the colours from the leaves…so I thought it would work!    There is a bit of green, of orange and of brown.    However, if I find I don’t like it after hooking more of the center, I can always pull it out and put something else in the gentle scalloped parts.

I had first thought of hooking the border with gentle scallops in white with cut out parts to look like lace.   But I decided that the border would then become part of the center…and also, the white was too “showy”…so I chose the “duller” plaids!

One of the joys of experimenting is that you can find something that works beautifully in a rug that is a bit out of the ordinary!   And I like that..!

I am doing the border in a #8 cut…and it is funny how wide the strips seem to me now!   I used to do almost all my rugs in #8…but after the #3-#6 cuts I use now, the 8 feels like I am pulling a quarter yard of wool through the backing!!!!!!!   But the hooking goes fast…!!!

Here is Progress on Day 14…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂

BBBmysteryday14BBBmysteryday14b

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Day 14”

  1. I love your gentle scallops Sunnie and your initials looks great too.
    I’ve been thinking, because I’m usually a thinking kind of person anyway. I think that with all the documentation about why you do what you do and the wool you chose so everything is balanced while hooking your rugs have the making of a nice Folk Art Rug Hooking Book by Sunnie Andress. I think so…
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Dear Julia…you are always so kind and encouraging! Thank you for the nice comment..!!! 🙂
      Several years ago some rug hooking friends asked me about doing a book…for people who wanted to do some “different” rugs but were hesitant to try without some direction! I have thought about it…along with thinking about offering some patterns…but have just not gotten my act together to give it a try!

      Both books and patterns would be fun projects…!!! At least I should do more thinking about those projects during the winter months and the long days spent inside my apartment with the cat…!

      I was looking through my photos the other day and remembered my picture of Mom at age 75. I will be 73 this December and I think I look a little like my mother as I approach her age in the picture in two more years. I might do a portrait of Mom at 75 before doing one of her as a young woman. That would be fun!!

      Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Sunnie, your mom must have been a pretty woman if you look like her. I’ll be 68 on the 27 and two more years before I’m 70. Hard to believe and I thought I wouldn’t live to see 65… Every year is precious.

        You’re very talented and I think a book would be just so nice.
        I hope that you’ll have a wonderful Thanksgiving Celebration with your daughter.
        Hugs,
        JB

Leave a Reply

