New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Days 23-25

 

Finally…back again!!!!   …lol…   I have been hooking in “fits and starts” for a few days and so much of the progress was background and more leaves that, when I finally finished the last Bluebird (there are 11 on this rug!!!!!!!!!)…I thought I could do an interesting post once again!   🙂

Somehow, pictures of yellow background and…more yellow background (!!!)…and… another leaf…and another leaf!!!!..seemed a bit boring for you!!!!!.

I am getting very close to the finish…just a bit more background and the top border…and “Joy Is A Bluebird Morning” will be complete.

This rug has meaning for me in several ways…

1.   It is a “memory rug” for me as my husband loved bluebirds and it is dedicated to him!    (I have hooked his name in the little “filler” squiggle up in the top right hand corner)  As I hooked,  I was recalling many treasured times in our 21 years in the Vermont countryside when the bluebirds came and nested in the house Joe built for them on the gentle hill behind our little farmhouse.   These are bittersweet memories as I am still missing Joe so much.   (He died last year).

2.   I am trying out rugs that might be made into patterns, as I have been asked to make some of my designs available to others.   I am thinking about patterns that might be fun for others to do (The Halloween Friends and Fun) pattern and this one might be fun for others to hook too.   We shall see.

3.   As I said earlier, this is also a lesson in motif and colour balance…on the one side, “squarish, blocky” motifs and on the other “lines and rounded” motifs.   The colours are used on both sides to pull things together and the center motifs are all surrounded by the yellow background “sunshine”!

4.   I have purposely left the horizontal “bar” at the bottom of the center design hooked without lettering this time…but I have considered hooking “BLUEBIRD  MORNING” in that space.   I like the idea of having the figures surrounded by sunshine…even standing on sunshine!   …lol…      This is why I did not put grass underfoot and why I felt the earlier lavender did not do anything for the design and actually detracted from it..!

So here is Progress on Days 23-25…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

BBBmysteryday23-25

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs-Days 23-25”

  1. Hi Sunnie, so sorry I’ve been neglecting visiting your blog and everyone else’s but I had more than I could handle with the renovations and the calves etc… I was pooped by the end of the day.

    Your Bluebird rug looks so darn cute and happy. It’s amazing how creative you are. I know you’re missing Joe but I’m glad he’s looking and smiling from above and saying to the others, “That’s my Sunnie angel down there… isn’t she something!!!. She’s so pretty and talented too…Look at her creative rugs, they make me smile”….

    Very shortly the days will start getting longer again and before we know it it will be time to enjoy the warmer rays of sunshine.
    Hugs

    JB

    1. HI Julia…I know you were taking time off and I have been slowed down by Holiday preparations and “things to do”!!!!! So I have only been posting here and there!!! …lol…
      I can’t believe you accomplish all that you do!!!! I have to go take a nap just reading about your family activities!!! Whew! Hope all the animals (and humans!) are doing well…!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Your Bluebird mat is absolutely wonderful Sunnie! It was worth the wait. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

