New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/”Joy is a Bluebird Morning”-FINISHED

Hooray!!!   Finally finished “Joy Is A Bluebird Morning” on Day 26!!!   🙂 This has been great fun to do… hooking all the little bluebirds to make them all different, dressing the “bird-loving” lady in the colours of the tree and flowers and hooking the happy sun and “sunshining” background.   As I said, it was also a “memory” piece for me and that made it all the more delightful to do…Joe and I did love our bluebirds!!! Now I know the little birdhouse that my lady holds is not exactly the proper bluebird birdhouse…but we can forgive artistic license here (I hope!!!!)   …lol… As you can see, the lady’s outfit was a hoot to do with all of its colours and design!   (By the way, the “little detail” I spoke about in an earlier post is the bodice of the lady’s dress.   I had drawn a little ruffle for the collar but then I thought it would be a nice touch to do her collar and tiny front trim just the reverse of the colour on the bluebird’s breast (the coral and white).   So I hooked a white collar and a coral pink trim line.  This sort of detail might seem silly to some, but if it pleases me…I enjoy doing it..!!!!!) Although I mentioned that “squarish” motifs were on the left side and lines and rounded motifs were on the right side, you will probably notice that the upper branches are in a “squarish” section and the lower trunk, branches and birds are also in a “squarish” area.   Again…these are things that I either plan as I go or they come to my notice as I hook a rug!   🙂 Oh yes, I have included a couple of pictures with the plain borders added on (by computer) to show you why I made the decision to make the border the way I did.   I felt that the plain borders were just too harsh and too “stark” for this “sweet” rug…so I did a simple border that added some softness but didn’t draw undue attention to itself!   You might not agree…but I am happy with my choice and that is important to me!!!!   (I hope the lady and her bluebird friends are happy too!!!)   …lol…  So here is “Joy Is A Bluebird Morning” finished…and I thank you for coming along on this adventure with me!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

finishbluebirdmorn 

Hooking,  Sunnie  🙂 bluebirdBLUEbluebirdBROWN

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New BBB Mystery Rug/Sunnie/”Joy is a Bluebird Morning”-FINISHED”

  1. This is awesome Sunnie, it looks you used crayons to color this page from a coloring book. It’s beautiful, soft , sunnie and cheerful. I can almost hear the bluebirds singing to that lady with the birdhouse.
    A great tribute to Joe and a wonderful memory.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Thank you, Julia…you know I also thought of crayons when looking at this rug!!!!! (I just know we are related somehow!!!! ) …lol…
      It was such fun to hook and different from my 3-4 earlier rugs for this autumn and winter. I thought of a children’s book or colouring book too…like an ABC with Bluebirds for the “B”!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. You did it again, Sunnie. Composed and hooked a beautiful rug that came with an even more beautiful meaning. I remember your tales of the bluebirds back in Vermont. Thanks for allowing us to follow your progress. Keeps us motivated. Enjoy the holidays with your family and best wishes to you and yours in the upcoming year!!
    trisha

    1. Thank you, Trisha…it was fun to do a “sweet” rug for a change!!!! Joe and I enjoyed bluebirds so much and they truly were such a wonderful part of our life in Vermont.

      I hope you also have wonderful holiday gatherings…I am fortunate to have some of my family near me, so I have great celebrations at holiday time!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Hi Carole…yes…I am cleaning up my workroom (!!!) and taking a break until after Christmas. But I have several rugs in mind to do later!!!!!!! …lol… It’s hard to keep an old hooker from her hooks!!! 🙂
      Hugs to you, and Happy Holidays too! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

