New 2015 Rug-“Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/Starts Jan. 1

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

May you all have a great 2015!   And…I hope you have time to do at least a little of what you “Really Want” to do this year!   Also, I thank you for coming along on these “little adventures” with me!  I do appreciate all of you!   🙂

I have several projects to do for this year, some for family, etc.   but this first Rug project is going to be a fun piece done in the style of Magdalena Briner Eby.   We have a Group on the Forum, Rug Hooking Daily, (free to join RHD, by the way!) that shares and discusses her primitive rug work.   If you will “google” her name and rug hooking, you will find many examples of the rugs she hooked.

These are great fun to do,  for newcomers and for lovers of primitive as they are simple animal designs done without any sense of scale, perspective, etc.   Magdalena used many different fabrics but I’ll just stick to wool (I think!!!)   …lol…

I am not doing a “reproduction” of any of her designs, but simply looking at all her rugs and sketching out the animals and birds I want to put on my rug.   so my rug will be an “adaptation” of some of her designs and I am using her rugs as “inspiration”!

The name of my Folk Art Business in Vermont was “Old Crow Farm” …so I have several crows on this piece!   The “lollipop tree” design in the middle of my rug was used several times in Magdalena’s rugs.   I will start in the middle of my piece and probably work on the lower center first.magd2

Above is one of Magdalena’s rugs and you can see that the horses are simple and the background (as well as the motifs) uses a lot of different wools/fabrics.

My rug will be 27 x 51 inches this time and will have crows, a cat, bunnies, horses, dogs, the lollipop tree, the corner quarter circles and I’ll use a lot of leftover woolworms here too.   This will be a good piece for our “Great Deworming Marathon” Group on RHDaily as well.

The first Progress post will be tomorrow Jan 1st…I hope you are not too groggy from celebrating all night to actually See the starting photo!   …lol…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New 2015 Rug-“Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/Starts Jan. 1”

Leave a Reply

