New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1

OldfarmMagda-Day 1 Happy New Year!   Here we go with the new Rug…and it is already great fun!!!   🙂 I’m using up a lot of woolworms already!   Hooray!

As you know, I like to do many kinds of rugs… but for the most part, I do them in my own style.   And make my choices in the way I like to work.  

My choice of background for this rug was made by looking at all of my bins of fabrics (the darker ones because I had decided to do a dark background and not a light one as I did my earlier magdalena-style 24 x 24 inch rug) and see how much wool I had in larger amounts of darker colours. I had two bins of “reds-burgundies-maroons” so I decided to choose 3 dark burgundy wools for the background.   Here is the photo.   ( The rug pattern ended up being about 27 x 52 inches.)burgundyFarmMag

The wools actually appear lighter than they are and the colours in the plaids are of a lower contrast than they appear…but you get the idea.   I have enough wool to do the entire background in these colours so there is no worry about running out.   They will blend very well and add subtle colour changes in the background.

My rug will not look as “primitive” as Magdalena’s because I am doing it in my own style…but I find that I enjoy being inspired by work in everything from fine cut to torn #10 cuts.   I just like being “different”…!!!   My  family and friends say I am a little (!!!!) “wacky”!!!   (I love the definition of “wacky” in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary…”wacky = amusing and very strange”!!!!! )  …lol…

I have about 6 smaller plastic drawers of leftover woolworms and several plastic storage boxes of small wool pieces…so I will be using them as I hook.   I am using a #6 in almost everything…However, the woolworms will be used if they are a #8 or below a #6 as I usually use several different widths in rugs anyway!!!!!

My “lollipop tree” is in the center of the rug and I will be doing the lower center and, I think, the lower right as I start this piece.   I am only using wool on linen…but I might try slipping in another fabric if I feel more adventurous on any given day!!!!!!   …lol…

So here we go on the first 2015 rug hooking adventure!   Thank you for coming along with me and I hope you will try a Magdalena Briner Eby-style rug sometime this year.   Her designs are perfect for lovers of primitive, wide cut, multi-fabric and naïve designs.   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂      

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 1”

  1. Just started reading your blog about your newest mat,,, enjoying it,,, love this mat and especially using up lots,,,

    1. Thank you, Elaine…I have a lot of fun with each rug I do…and enjoy having Blog company as I hook my “experiments”!!!! …lol…
      And, hopefully, some of my hooking adventures give a little help to others…even when I talk about my mistakes!!! 🙂

      I appreciate your visit…! Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

