New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day2

Here we go again!!!   Well, of course, I have been redesigning this rug already as I work on it…!!!   However, it’s how I like to work because my drawn pattern is only a “suggestion” of what I am going to do!   …lol…

On my last 24 x 24 inch Magdalena-style rug, I did a bit more planning before starting…and I followed my pattern a bit more closely.   But I have “loosened up” much more since then and now feel completely free to go off in different directions if I just “feel like it” on that day!!!!!magdalena24

I’ve always felt I had a lot of freedom when doing my rugs, especially after learning the basics in my first rug hooking class (in 1998)…using a #3 cut on burlap with an 8-value colour swatch, shading the petals of a rose!!!!!   It was just beautiful to do that and I learned a lot…but I knew that taking 10 years to do a large, realistic looking floral rug was just not for me!!!!    So I put away my hooking things.   Of course, I thought about drawing my own designs…so,  in 2005, I started drawing my own folk art or primitive rug motifs and just started hooking!   🙂

I realized that, because I had been taught so well, given the “rules” of fine cut realistic shading, etc. that I could throw all that out and just do my own thing!   No “rug police” would come after me!   (Now I did get a few sweet smiles and pats on the head and a few “how interesting, dear” comments from more experienced rug hookers…lol…but I am not easily intimidated so I just kept on hooking my way!!!)

So my advice is always, learn as much as you can from great teachers and other rug hookers who share what they do, and then do what you want.   If you find a wonderful pattern designer and love to do that person’s patterns…go for it…!   If you want to hook with plastic bags, old knitted scarves and Grandma’s old knickers, just do it…!   And you’ll have fun!   Well, enough of the chatter!!!

Here is Progress for todays Post #2…I went to the bottom center, redesigned the leaf and hooked off to the left instead of to the center right (as I said yesterday)!!!   I wanted to do a crow so I did a crow!!!!   (I am also leaving a few spaces in the background to pop in some leftover worms…getting rid of more in my woolworm stash…!)

I am just reaching into my leftover woolworm bins and pulling out colours to use, just as if I had nothing else to use on this rug.   (and not a room full of new wool that I could cut at any time!!!)

Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  🙂   (I have lightened the second picture so you can see the different colours in the 3 burgundies I am using for background)

OldfarmMagdaDay2

OldfarmXtra2

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day2”

  1. Happy New Year Sunnie, You have a great beginning on this rug. Have fun.

    I’ a bit under the weather these last three days and have been laying low on cyber space.
    Happy Hooking,
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hope you feel better soon, Julia! Happy New Year! 🙂
      Rest and take it easy…you do so much that a time of rest and caring for yourself is a good thing!!!!!
      I thought a “Magdalena-style” rug would be good for resting my brain (!!!!!) and getting rid of more woolworms!!!! …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

