New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 4

I’m having such fun with this one!   I was hunting through my stash for a piece of wool to use for todays animal and came across this piece.   Wonderful plaid and great for animals!   (I need to cut small pieces of new wool if I need more than a few strips for a motif. )puppywool

But I can use my leftovers for some of the background, some motifs, a lot of the accents and squiggles (!!!) and will use a Lot, I hope, in the border!!!!!   🙂

Oh yes…I wanted to mention how I designed this rug.   I looked at Magdalena’s rugs in my book and online, looked at my previous rug with the light background and decided to use a dark background this time.   I  then sat down with a pencil and scrap paper and drew sketches of animals like hers.

I made a “tentative” pattern using those first sketches and then decided to enlarge the right side of my drawing for my paper pattern…but wasn’t satisfied with the left side of my drawing.   So I  first drew my outline (on the straight of the grain) of the rug center design, then I used my light table to transfer the right side of the rug design onto the linen.

After that, I laid out my linen on the floor, cut out the animals from my “right side” paper pattern and used some of them for templates to draw the left side of the rug.   I was happier with the final center design.   I now had my rug “suggestion”…lol… and I could start hooking and redesigning as I hooked.   Sometimes, I needed to adjust the positions of the motifs so they would not be too close together.   Sometimes, I needed to redraw or change a motif entirely if I thought another one would fit better…etc. 

I left some spaces blank so I could design them as I went along…and am putting in leftover worms here and there along with the 3 background wools if they are dark enough or add a little bit of colour!!!

So here is Progress on Day 4…I wanted a puppy (!!!) so I got one!!!!!  (His eye makes him look a bit strange…so I’ll change it a bit..!)   …lol…

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

oldfarmmagdaday4

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 4”

Leave a Reply

