New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 7

Hooking right along!!!!!   🙂  

I think I told you at the start that I was doing this rug as a kind of “memory” rug too (like the last bluebird rug!) of our life in the country in Vermont and the name of my business there.   Here is a photo of our little farmhouse down that country road!   ourhouserr And my business sign.   We lived on 3 1/2 acres just outside of Derby, Vermont…in what is called the Northeast Kingdom!

We were about 5 miles from the Canadian border and Joe had relatives in Derby Line…right on the border.

He loved this area and had spent 10 years of his childhood in the area, both in Quebec and in Derby Line…so his heart had never left this place.   After living here in Vermont for 21 years, I understood his feelings and I loved it too!  

I thought that a Magdalena-style rug would be a fun way to put in some of the animals and birds around our property.  ( I didn’t have room this time to put in the great blue heron who used to come and STAND  on a large rock in the pond across the road then wade in and fish!!! ) …( I am laughing because I just reread my post and the image of the Heron sitting on the rock and fishing would be quite a sight..!!!!)     …lol…

Also, I have the Bradley Primitive rug in my apartment living room that has some little old and antique things (the cat and I are included!!!!!!)   …lol…    And some Victorian touches with modern bits and some of my rugs on the walls and floors as well.      The loveseat is a burgundy  brocade so I thought putting a “primitive country” rug in the mix would be fun and give the Bradley a rest from time to time!!!

My Décor would certainly be called “eclectic” (!!!)   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 7…another Crow arrives on the scene today!  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldfarmMagday7

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 7”

  1. Hooking memories rugs is so much fun. I can remember the fun I had hooking my Childhood Memories rug but it took me a long time to get it finished in narrow cuts.

    Actually, you didn’t live very far from Montreal.

    Take care and enjoy hooking your sweet memories. It’s a great way to keep them alive.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. I have been in Montreal and enjoyed my visit. As a child, we visited British Columbia several times…just beautiful…! I have wonderful Canadian friends…including you!!! 🙂

      My brother had a church there many years ago with English speaking and Portuguese speaking congregations. He also spoke French and was studying German for work on a doctorate. “Whew”!!!!! …lol…

      I love your Childhood Memories rug. Yes, with the narrow cuts I know I would take two or three times longer to do the rugs I hook. I would probably still be working on the Grumpy Lions rug or the Ancient Ornament celtic rug!!!!!!!!!!

      Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunny, thanks so much for posting the photo of your old farmhouse. Now I have a good VISUAL of the home place you hold so dear. What a beautiful home.

    I enjoy all of your rugs – you have such a wonderful style with so much whimsey. Now, I’m soaking-in the written commentary on your latest, “Old Crow Farm” and the border design. Seeing the photos helps a beginner like me understand more about the construction and design process. I know it’s quite a chore to record your WIPs — I am grateful and learning so much from you. Thank you ever so much!

    1. Thank you, Lynn, for the kind words…and for coming along on this adventure with me!
      Although I don’t “teach”, as such, I really enjoy sharing what I do and how I do it…mistakes and all…!!! …lol…
      My experiments might help someone else decide on a design or a technique and it also might help someone decide Not to do something!!!
      (for instance, using plaids as a background. Seeing the colour changes in my backgrounds because of the plaids might help someone decide Not to use them as they don’t want that “look”!) 🙂

      I have been thankful for the input I have had from many different rug hookers in my first years (and a few teachers too)…and, after learning the “rules”, I decided to free myself from most of them! I now simply enjoy designing and hooking and having fun…with very little planning! But I am glad I learned from all of those teachers and experienced rug hookers!!!! It has given me a rich foundation and wonderful memories!!!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

