New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 8

I spent time filling in background for this post and starting up the right side of the rug with my leftover woolworms!   Now I know filling in the background is not exciting (!!!)   but I really do not like hooking a lot of the fun motifs first and then filling in background day after day after day!!!!    Yeeeks!   …lol…

So…I do the background as I go…and often (if I actually Know what the border is going to be!) I do the border design too.  

The exception might be a border where I am hooking in all straight lines all around the rug or if I am doing a border with lettering in it.   At least for me, the lettering takes a lot of time as I decide the font that I think will look best, the colour of the border background and the lettering colour.   Then, putting the lettering into the border takes time.  

If I am hooking the border in all straight hooking, it goes very fast…even on a larger rug.   So I might save that for last…and just relax as I hook it since it takes very little thought…!!!  

I find it interesting that hooking this border with leftovers actually takes quite a bit of time!   I am just grabbing pieces that are different colours and not worrying about being perfect or “neat and tidy” in my hooking lines (this is a primitive rug). 

So here is Progress on Day 8…I am going to have a colour decision to ponder over for tomorrow’s post so we’ll see what I do with that…!   …lol…   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldfarmmagdaDay8

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

One thought on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 8”

  1. Wow, I can’t believe 8 days are already gone by in January. Winter is zipping away at a fast rate and watching you hook like a hooking machine is keeping me grounded as I still not finding time to hook. Sigh. I just finished mending a pair of working pants for my husband and spent about an hour fixing it. I had to rip the seams on both legs and also fix a tear on the front below the pocket.

    Now I have other priorities.
    Your “A” is looking smart and sexy. Joe would approve.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

