New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 9

For today’s post I had a decision to make.   🙂

When we lived in Vermont, we had a pasture across the street that we did not use.   (we didn’t keep animals…only our cats).   For years, we let various neighbors use it for free if they put up the fences.   We had dairy cows for several years, the black and white Holsteins, in our pasture.   (beautiful cows although the dairy bulls are very aggressive!!!)  

 However, since this rug is rather “dark” I wanted to try hooking a “dirty white” and black cow and adding that same dirty white in other areas of the rug.   I may have to “dirty it up” even more to keep the light areas from jumping out at me!!!!!   …lol…   But experimentation is the name of the game.   If it is too distracting, I can make the cow a light tan (or a Brown Swiss!) instead!  

The cow is hooked upside down so she looks a bit odd  (!!!)  but I will tweak her a bit as I go along.

So here is Progress on Day 9…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldfarmmagdaDay9

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 9”

  1. Your cow is lovely Sunnie. EWhen I made my first cow rug, I used a very diluted onion skin dye to dirty my white. It was perfect.

    Happy Hooking.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

