New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 10

Since I have decided to keep the (dirty!!!) white and black cow (!!!), I will now go back to the motifs I have already done and add some lighter strips to them or around them to make a higher contrast between the lights and darks.   🙂

Oldfmagdaday10x

If you study Magdalena’s rugs, you will see her outlining in one or two colours around her motifs…and they really stand out in many of the rugs!

As you saw in the earlier photos, I did my motifs first with a low contrast with the background but I hadn’t made a final decision about that.    After working more on the scrappy border on the right side, I decided that more contrast was needed in the center design.   If you are new to rug hooking I hope you will not be afraid to go back and change something if you feel that it would look better a different way!   (Even when doing a rug pattern that you love, you might find that the original rug design has a motif in it that you think would look better with a lighter or darker colour.   You can do it your way!   Or…if you want to do a pastel rug in bright circus colours…go for it..!)    No rug police will come and get you!!!   …lol…

OldfmagdaDay10xx

For today’s post I have done more background, filled in the cow and done more scrappy border!   I’m having a great time and I think Magdalena would approve.   I’m using what I have and my scrap bins are emptying out.   Hooray!!!

So here is Progress on Day 10!   I still can’t believe how many hours it takes to hook that scrappy border…I think I spent about 4 hours on it today!!!   Happy hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldcrowmagDay10

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 10”

  1. I can only imagine how much your wooly worm pile is going down. I remember how fun it was when I was doing those three dewormer rugs. Do you know that I haven’t even bounded or whipped the edges on any of them. There should be a police for that, lol…
    Have a nice hooking day. Wow, 4 hours . That would break my back.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…I always take a lot of breaks when working on a rug for several hours!!! that’s the only way I could do it..! 🙂
      I did more border than you can see…the whole right side border is finished now.
      I guess I am surprised that hooking the random strips takes so long as I don’t have to get up and cut strips or really do much sorting through them! I know the background takes a long time even if there isn’t too much of it…!!! …lol…

      You’ve been so busy…there will be time for the edge-finishing sometime. I haven’t finished the edges on my last 2 or 3 rugs either. I usually take them to do that when I get together with other rug hookers!
      Happy Hooking! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

