New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 12

 One of the most satisfying things for me is the moment that a rug design, technique or colour-blend comes together and I Know that it is just what I wanted it to be!!!   I imagine that happens to us all…artists and creators of everything from programming, writing, building…in fact so many of the things we do!    I am having such fun with this rug and the decision about keeping the cow (and also the scrappy border) has changed my colour choices…and I’m delighted with the change!!!   Also, I am happy with my design changes and alterations as I go along!   🙂

Let’s have fun with what we are doing!!!

Is it really so important that All our mats, rugs and wall pieces attempt to be museum pieces?   We are getting experience hooking and doing something we love.   So if your daughter wants a pink frog, hook it for her, hang it in her room and both of you enjoy it…!!!   A pink frog sounds fine to me!!!      Especially if it gives your daughter pleasure…and it was made for her by her Mom or Dad!!  

The time will come in the future to learn the realistic look of water, the proper colour for the species of frog and the correctly dyed browns for the cattails! 

I really don’t like to “critique” other people’s work or colour choices (unless I can’t get out of it…!)   …so I ask questions like:

“What is the focus you want for this piece?”  –  “What do you want to stand out and what do you want to stay in the background?” –  ” Do you want a “wormy” look for your background, a subtle colour change or a solid colour?”  –  “What is the mood you are trying to create?”   – “Are you dissatisfied with something…what is it?”      They usually figure out the problem themselves!!!!!   And we are all happy!   (and all of us have learned something in the process!)   I ask myself these questions when I am designing and hooking a rug!!! 

I have no idea why this post popped into my head this morning but there it is for what it is worth..!!!

Now to the hooking…

I finished the last little bit of the upper right border corner…so the entire right side border is finished.   The corner is a little bit different from the lower right…as I said, I’m trying to make them different but not too much!!!!!!   …lol…   (Yes, Yes…I know they are “supposed” to “match”!!!!!!!)   🙂

Here is Progress on Day 12…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie!  🙂

OldmagdaDay12g

 

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 12”

  1. Ahhh Sunnie, I must be tired because I feel giddy. When I looked at your post, the first thing I read was ” New rug, Old crow ” and I burst out laughing… just like that. It struck me funny I guess.

    I’m think that I may be the cause of you thinking abut color as I’ve been dragging my feet on my grandfather’s face, and that struck me funny too. It sounds so disrespectful… but he had a good sense of humour and he would have a chuckle….

    It’s time to go to the farm to feed my calves. I got another one this morning…..

    I can see a whole lot of worried worms that found a new home in the corner of your rug. I like the look.

    Snowing here again… I’ve made a batch of pie crust this afternoon. It felt like the right thing to do. Stay warm and happy hooking.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hi Julia…well you know I am the “Old Crow”…and I had to laugh at how the title looks on the page too!!!! …lol…
      I must have redone my father’s face many times as I was trying to get him to look realistic and not “cartoon-y”…like the people I usually do!!!!
      I went through stages where I just could not get it right…and then it all came together.
      Your grandmother’s face came so easily to you…what a blessing that was!!! Your grandfather would just chuckle and say…”keep at it, dear girl, keep at it..!” 🙂
      Stay warm… we are a balmy 50 degrees here!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, Diana! I appreciate all of you who visit and who come on these adventures with me! 🙂 It is a lot more fun when you know there are friends out there who watch your failures and successes!!!!! …lol…
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. Sunnie,
    I’m in love with your attitude about hooking. It is the personal expression of what you are envisioning for the rug that matters and not that every shading is perfect or that your creation will place in the next Celebrations contest. Sometimes I’ve fallen into that mindset and it is good to remind myself that perfection (whose?) is not the main point.
    I also like your advice about asking yourself what you like and don’t like about what you are making. One of the nicest things about hooking is that you can change your mind about colors, design, etc. very easily.

    1. Thank you, Jo Anne! I agree with you…that it is our expression of joy in what we do that matters…in every creative endeavor! 🙂
      Of course, we want to do our projects as well as we can at that moment…but I am sad when I see someone frustrated and unhappy because she/he is afraid to make a mistake or afraid that someone will be critical of the shading, etc.

      My husband used to laugh at me because he said…”You don’t really care if anyone else likes your work or not do you?” “You do it for yourself!” He was teasing…but it is true that I do what I do for myself, and my joy in doing it. Just as you said, not for a contest or so I can feel superior with my “perfection”!!!!! Hah!!! …lol…
      I am very happy that some other rug hookers like what I do…it is a great blessing and it means a lot to me!

      But my main goal is to have fun and to please myself! I’m delighted that there are some others who enjoy visiting me and being with me on these hooking adventures!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

