New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 15

Well here we go again!!!   🙂

Now I know some of you think (because I have been told by some friends..!) that I sail through these rug things without having any problems with design or colour or the hooking…etc….!!!    Most of the time, I Don’t have much trouble or much of any difficulty making decisions when hooking rugs because I do so little upfront planning that the decisions are made as I go.   And if I don’t like that decision, I just make another one!!!!!   …lol…   A very easy process!

Of course, that means I never think things like…  “Oh I am so stupid, why can’t I get this right?”   or “If I do this I know my Group or friend won’t like it and will criticize me!”   or   “I just can’t design anything, I’ll just give it up!”   or other such internal “comments”!    

In rug hooking, as in life, my way of living is to ask myself if what I am doing or thinking or feeling will help the situation I am in!   For instance, berating myself for being stupid because I can’t find that right shade of pink for the tail on my “Porky’s Delight” (!!!!) rug seems to me to be a useless exercise!   How is calling myself  “stupid” going to make the situation better?    I simply either look again for the right shade of pink, buy an eighth yard of the pink I want or change the colour of the pig’s rear end so that the tail looks fine with the pink I have!!!     Sounds simple enough to me!  

Now the reason I have told this little “tail”(!!!!!)   …lol… is because I am showing you my animal for today’s post…!  

Because of the way I designed the rug’s right side, I had a space at the  upper right to fill with an animal.   First, I put a Small Horse there.   I didn’t think it looked right so I changed the horse to a Cat lying down.   As I kept looking at the rug when I started the hooking, the cat did not look quite right to me so I changed the cat to a Rooster!   However, I remembered that we did not have chickens or roosters on our property and our neighbors did not “pasture” any roosters there either!!!!!    So I decided on a Sitting Cat instead.   by this time, I had so many drawings on top of each other that the linen was quite a mess!!!  

The Sitting Cat did not quite please me either…and then I suddenly remembered the mother Fox that we saw hunting in our pasture!   She raised her kits in a den on the hill behind our farmhouse and we enjoyed watching them play and eventually go across the road to hunt in the pasture.   Aha!!!   The light dawns!!!!!

I couldn’t draw the Fox on the linen because it was so criss -crossed with lines from the other drawings (and I have never hooked a fox before) so I had to sketch it on paper and try to follow my sketch with just the hooking lines!   I had to laugh as I tried to watch the drawing and hook at the same time!!!    The “fluffy tail with the white tip” gave me a tough time…and I cropped the picture so you can see some of the messy drawing lines!!!    Thank goodness this is not a realistic rug…and it can be a “fox suggestion”!!!!    …lol…  

My Fox won’t win any prizes…but I Do think I should get the prize for the most changes of mind and design in a 48 hour period!!!!!   🙂

So here is Progress on Day 15…Happy Hooking and don’t get discouraged…”All shall be well, and all shall be well and all manner of thing shall be well.”   (Julian of Norwich)

Cheers!  Sunnie  🙂

OldmagdaDay15

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 15”

  1. Brought back some memories of “crisscrossing” I’ve done. It can really get confusing after awhile. I even tried the “put the latest drawing in with a different color marker pen” but that got perplexing too. Your fox came out just fine!

    1. HI Jo Anne…I even tried a red pen one time but that got all criss-crossed too!!!

      At least I got a good laugh out of the situation…and thankfully, these are just primitive animals and birds that are not realistic! If I were doing realism I would still be on the first bird!!!!!!! …lol…

      Laughing at ourselves is a good thing to do from time to time!!!!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  2. I like the fox. I’ve had the same problem with drawing the ribbon around my Childhood memory rug and I was getting frustrated until I changed my attitude and let the twisted ribbon represent the many twist and turns my life has taken as I grew up.

    I posted a drawing to represent me at work in the barn on my blog post today. You’ll get a chuckle out of it, I’m sure.
    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

