New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20

Hooray…I was able to finish up the lollipop tree in the middle of the rug, do a little more background and fill in a “small filler section” just above the crow on the left side of the rug!   🙂

I am adding touches of white and light and bright in the motifs to continue having them stand out against the dark background.

Now you might look carefully at the lollipop tree and say to yourself…why didn’t she hook the circles in the lighter section all the same?   Some of the light colours used around the colourful centers just fade into the background…and some of them are whiter and stand out more!   As you know, I am using up woolworms and being “free” with my choices…so I simply grabbed worms out of a “light colours” bag  and used them!   Again, this rug is an exercise in using what you have  (!!!) and I doubt if the circles in the lighter section of that center tree will ruin the whole rug design because they are all not the same!!!!!

You have my permission to deduct points for “odd inconsistencies” (!!!)  …lol…   on my rug!!!

I’ll do more background today and then jump into designing the next animal…!!!   As I said, I have “generic” animals sketched on my backing but am changing and redesigning as I go.   That is what makes it fun for me!!!!   (My fox looks better to me now that I have more animals done…they are all very simple designs with very little detail…!)

So here is Progress on Day 20…are we having fun yet?????   …lol…  

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldmagdaDay20

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 20”

  1. Oh yes, I’m having fun and I think, “Good for yo for not sweating the small stuff on this rug and using what you have with a childlike free attitude”
    Rug Police not allowed in your territory. hahaha.

    Nice sunny day outside and a mere -5°C or 23°F. I had a nap after work this morning and feel refreshed. I’m hoping to pull a few worms on my grandfather’s face to have them pull out later, no doubt. I need that childlike attitude.

    HUgs,
    JB

    1. HI Julia…glad you are feeling good again!!! This type of rug is just perfect for a “free-wheeling” attitude and using up scraps! I know Magdalena used a lot of different fabrics in her rugs!
      We are about 39 degrees here today, rather gray outside! A typical Oregon winter day here in King City!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

