New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 21

Here we go!!!   🙂

I’ve been laughing at myself today because of my first try on the animal I chose to do for today’s post…!!!    I had been considering several animals that visited or lived on our Vermont property and Julia’s suggestion of a raccoon or a skunk got me thinking about a couple of skunks we encountered around our house!   One was especially funny (thankfully, it did not spray!!!!!) but when we tried to “encourage” it to go to the woods or to the pasture…anywhere but beside the house, it just looked at us with that “I don’t have to listen to you” expression and walked away very slowly…so we would know who was in charge!   …lol…

I did have several encounters with different animals!   I confronted 6 piglets one morning when they were busy tearing up our lawn!  (the owners didn’t know how to keep them on their own property!!!)

It was funny…I just went outside where they were rooting, shouted “Hey, you pigs!” and got their attention.   Then I pointed to their home property and “You go back home right now!” in my loudest and most authoritative voice!!!!   They all looked at me and each other, turned around and trotted off down the road to their home!   Now no one can say that I don’t have a way with farm animals!!!!   …lol…

Joe called me the neighborhood “pig whisperer”…but “pig yeller” would be more accurate!!  🙂

We did have a couple of “smelly” skunk encounters during our 21 years, but I am surprised there weren’t more.   We did not have a dog and the skunks and cats seemed to just ignore each other and were indifferent when they met.   So no attacking or spraying there!

I chose a skunk to do next and started it last night.   However, when I got up this morning I had to laugh!   My skunk really looked like a very strange (and oddly coloured!!!) pot bellied pig!!!!!   Not like a skunk at all (at least to me!) except for the black and white!!!!  

So I went back to the computer, “googled” skunk pictures and drawings and took a good look at what I had done wrong!   I then went back to the hooking frame, took out a lot of what I had done, and sketched a better guide.   Now, I think my skunk does look like a skunk!     🙂

Of course, since the skunk is black and white, I needed to outline him/her with colours to show up against the deep burgundy…so here it is!   I see I missed some black on the body but I’ll check for holidays too and neaten it up tonight!

Progress on Day 21…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie     🙂

OldmagdaDay21

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 21”

  1. Aww, your skunk is adorable and I love that lavender touch on the tail. I love your pig story too and laughed all the way through the story. You’re so funny.
    Big hugs for the laugh.
    JB

    1. I did have another pig adventure too, as well as several cow, horse, pony and raccoon encounters!!!! They were so funny…I was always amazed when the animals obeyed me!!! …lol…
      Thanks for jogging my memory with the raccoon and skunk suggestion!!!
      I should have taken that picture of the “piggy-looking” skunk I did first…!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Another “skunk story” from Vermont. Our neighbor, Hale, who is a native Vermonter and an endless source of information about the state — its people and wildlife, the beautiful land, climate, its trees and flowers — mentioned one day that he had gone up one day to check on an old Chelsea farmer and his wife at their homestead up on the hill. After chatting with John and ascertaining that the couple was not in need of anything, Hale was about to leave when he came upon John’s wife outside of the barn feeding their cats. He couldn’t quite believe what he saw. There she was calling the “kitties” and at the same time literally shooing away several skunks from the cat food. This obviously was pretty much of a daily happening and the skunks, like yours, would lumber away taking their time. Hale was still shaking his head as he told the story for none of the skunks had ever sprayed her.

    1. Love the story!!! 🙂
      I know people who have cats and also have to deal with skunks have different stories…but we did not have a problem with our cats and skunks being aggressive with each other or fighting!

      I did have many funny encounters with the farm animals and wildlife around our home. I did not grow up on a farm but my Mother and Father did. They had fun stories too.
      Are you doing the elephant yet?
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

