New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 22

Quick post today…I was able to fill in background on my top center for today and put in a spiral with a nice coral colour.    🙂  

When I fill in the rest of the background around the skunk and finish the border above, I will next move on to hooking the left side of the rug!   Since I already have a couple of the motifs and some background done on the left, I feel like I’ve made good progress in these 22 days.   Remember that this is a 27 x 52 inch rug, so it is not small…and I am doing the borders and background as I go!!!!   So when I reach the left border and complete it, I’ll be finished!!!    What fun!!!       

In addition to the actual hooking, there is design work to be done as I go along…changes in the “generic” animals/birds I have drawn to show the positions of the animals and birds on the rug.   And, changing the positions of the motifs if they are drawn too close together or are more pleasing to me if I adjust the outline, etc. takes quite a bit of time.   You can see that on the next leaf I’ll do today…I changed the position to fit in with the rabbit and the skunk!  

(On the other hand, if I had hooked the fox and the skunk correctly the first time, I wouldn’t have spent so long on them!!!!!!!!!)   …lol…   But we can’t expect everything to be perfect, can we?

So here is Progress on Day 22…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie    🙂

OldmagdaDay22

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 22”

  1. I’m enjoying following along and I’m amazed at the speed of your hooking. I bet you hook in your sleep. Thanks for the update.

    I went to the eye doctor for my two year check up and no need to change my glasses, I’m so pleased.

    Hook on Sunnie,
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hooray…glad your glasses are OK! Mine were too on my last year check up. I need to make an appointment for this year pretty soon!

      Using the wider strips a lot (#6 and #8) in the background helps with speed!!!! But I do hook for 2-4 hours each day and if I get my animals right the first time (!!!) …lol… I can zip along pretty fast. 🙂
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

