New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 23

Not a lot of time to hook last night but I did get some background filled in, a new leaf and some border finished…every little bit helps!!!!   🙂

You will note that I did Not outline the recent leaf!   One…because I felt it would crowd the other motifs unless I made the leaf smaller (I did not want to do that),  Two…again, because this is really a “do what you feel like” rug and is not meant to be “precise”, “formal”, “matching” or “consistent”, I just make decisions as I go along, and Three… I find when I do a rug, I often like it to have “quirks”!!!!!   …lol…   (Now you might say that ALL of my rugs have “quirks”!!!!!…but I do a few that are reasonably straightforward!)   🙂

I hope you won’t be afraid to try different things that please you, even if they don’t always please others!!!   If you want to include a particular lime green in Every rug you do…go for it.   You will find a place for that colour, even if it is only a vein in a leaf, part of your initials, a dot in a flower center,  a bow in the hair of your daughter or the toenails on an animal…!!!!!  ( Remember those blue “claws” on my Grumpy Lions rug?)

I like to say…”Listen and Learn from others all the time…and then do what gives you joy!”   You will develop your own style over time…and then you can break out and do something unexpected and shock all your rug hooking friends!!!!   …lol…

I know my friends and family were startled when I did the portrait of my Father!   They knew I just did not do realism!!!!!   But… I did learn a lot and was pleased with the result.   🙂

(However if you see me doing a large geometric rug you will know that my mind has finally gone!!!)

So here is Progress on Day 23…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

OldmagdaDay23

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 23”

  1. Sunnie, I’m learning a lot by following you. You should be teaching.
    It’s like an online course, only I’m not doing the hooking.

    You say that all your rugs have quirks… I’ve noticed another quirkiness in your distinct style if I’m to be so bold to say… it’ thats you always like to surprise us by not revealing all your hooking and then the great reveal.

    Have fun.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hmmm…I guess my Blog is rather like a “class”…lol… but more easygoing!!! I guess this is the way I like to share my own hooking life. 🙂

      In the classes I took when I first started hooking, the teacher would tell people what to do and what not to do, go around the class and comment or critique what each person was working on and advise them about how to “fix” whatever was “wrong”.

      Now that is fine for those just starting hooking and I am thankful for my first teacher (the one where we did the rose with a #3 cut and an 8-value swatch!!!!) I learned how to pull my loops up and relax my shoulders…and how to look at what I was doing and really observe, etc. But I did not want to hook realistic flowers!

      I have taught a few classes but I really don’t like the “formality” of a class. Also, I don’t always have a reason for what I do (or a good reason!!!!!) …lol…

      I think I am better talking about my rugs, showing them and answering the questions I Can answer…and that’s what I do here and at Hook-ins or gatherings where people are interested. 🙂

      So maybe I am a better “talker and shower and sharer” than I am a “teacher”! But if I have said or done anything that helps you or others, I am delighted…!!! (Even if it helps you to know what you Don’t want to do!!!!!!!) …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Though I would not personally want to hook a gigantic geometric patterned rug for myself, I did one for a commission awhile ago. I was asked to use a sort of log cabin design that the commissioner’s sister had originally come up with and develop that into a full blown rug. At first I freaked at the thought of doing 20 – 12″X13″ squares of anything, but eventually I made it more interesting by developing the colorways. In the end, I think I used about 125 colors total, all balanced out to make it appealing. The one good thing was that after the first panel was done, it all became much easier and I fell into some sort of almost non-thinking color placement. I ripped a few colors out here and there but for the most part it went smoothly. Not a project to ever tackle again.
    Regarding portraits, I haven’t really ever wanted to do one, but then one never knows!

    1. Jo Anne…you seem quite “sane” to me so I am glad the large geometric did not send you into a tizzy for life!!!!! …lol…

      The portrait of my father was the most difficult piece I have ever done…because I had NO experience in hooking human realism. However, I love the piece and am glad that my family was delighted with it and so were the many hookers who know me and my folk art work! They said it looked just like my Dad in his pictures as a young man! So I was very happy!!!

      My problem with geometrics is that I cannot change my mind in the middle and go off on a tangent!!! If it is going to be geometric, it needs to BE geometric! That is when they are most beautiful.

      There is one kind of geometric that I could do if I wished…one that starts in an upper corner and is perfectly geometric for a section…and then falls apart as you go down the rug and ends with chaos at the bottom!!!!!! 🙂

      Aren’t we glad we have so many choices? One of my friends in Vermont (Annette) asked for a little help when she first started hooking. I helped a little (I think!!!) but she just blossomed into her own and does absolutely beautiful geometrics! Her hooking is precise and beautiful…!

      So with a little help (me with my first teacher with that #3 rose, and Annette learning from rug hookers doing different types and styles of hooking) we developed in our own ways! And isn’t that what it is all about…doing what brings us joy!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

