New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24

Quick post…

I am now working on the left side of the rug (The lollipop “tree” is in the middle) and this is a bit more challenging than the right side.   I now need to make sure that the animals I create balance the colours on the right…and also that they are animals that either were on or visiting on our Vermont property!   🙂

I get away with a little “artistic license”…but I still want the animals to have the colours of real animals!!!   (Not a pink skunk or a green cow!!!)

I have chosen a rather odd colour for the pony that was in our pasture for awhile…but I think it “reads” as a light brown.   It is actually a dull coral herringbone wool… OM24+

(picture lightened)   the mane and tail are a coral plaid.

I think it will work…of course, I can always change it if I feel it doesn’t do what I want when I get more done around it!

Here is Progress on Day 24…Happy Hooking!   Sunnie   🙂

OldmagdaDay24

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 24”

  1. Nice herringbone wool, and it worked out perfectly for the pony.

    I was wondering if you had groundhogs or porcupines visiting your property in Vermont. We had a few of those visitors here at our place.

    I did a bit of hooking this afternoon before going to the farm. I still have lots of tweaking to do. I re-hooked the left eye and I need to fix the right one too.

    The storm has it us and it’s coming down pretty heavy.

    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. I’m sure we must have had both (and probably more animals besides!!!) but we did not see them. We had garter snakes, turtles, moose, deer, great flocks of wild turkeys, large owls, red squirrels and even a black bear once across the road in the pasture!!! I think I would have to hook about 3 rugs to get everything on!!!!!! …lol…

    I can’t believe our weather…we were in the 50’s and 60’s today…very warm for this time of year!!! I think we even set some records for January temps!
    Stay warm!!! Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

