New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 28

I did get some more done for today’s post and I have a couple of things to tell you that might help you…they certainly help me!!!!!    🙂

1…I’ve said many times that I “clothespin” my rugs to a board while I am hooking them so I can sit back and look at them from a distance.   However, if you can’t do that (and you haven’t already done this suggestion before (!!)… you can put your rug (in progress) as your computer screen background and sit back and look carefully at it.

I actually do both.  

I have 2 desktop computers and I use my old one for photo editing, etc.   (I like the program!)…so I put my most recent rug photo on the computer background as I go along.   I need to take a progress picture for you here, so it only means I take a full photo of the rug each day also.  

I find that using these two methods of really Observing my rug, I can see the little glitches and errors that can creep in when you hook rugs the way I do!   Of course, if you have your rug all planned out in advance, there will be little adjustments and tweaks, but you are not having to decide colours and choose motifs as you go along.   🙂   After all, if you are hooking a rug with green grass, tall sunflowers and a white rabbit…you have probably decided your colours in advance and do not really have to ponder over them!!!!!!!     …lol…

2…Another tip here is if you are trying out a colour on a motif and want to hook the complete design because you Really want to use that wool…(!!)   …make sure that you are using a wool the is not loose and does not come apart easily.    Some wools are “tricky” and they pull apart very easily when trying to remove them,  even if they don’t look loosely woven!   I am experimenting with my latest blue bird.   I have a lovely piece of turquoise wool that does not ravel so I tried it out on this bird, even though I thought it might  be too bright and call too much attention to itself!!!!!

I will need to get all the background around it and the other motifs on the left side of the rug before I will know for sure if I need to change the colour.   Of course, I can always keep it  if I want to even if the “rug police” would say  “No, NO, NO…it has to go!!!”   …lol…

So here is Progress on Day 28…I can see the unfinished part getting smaller and smaller!   I will need to work on the upper and lower border today as I don’t want to leave anything but the left side scrappy border for last..!  

Happy Hooking…Hope your power is on again, your snow is manageable, and you have enough groceries in the house!!!     Sunnie  🙂

OldmagdaDay28

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 28”

  1. I like to take photos and put them on my computer also. it’s amazing what can be seen that we missed before.
    A good tip.

    The blue bird really stands out. I wish I could see the whole rug but I know I have to wait. I’m getting so impatient am I?

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. What…impatient…you, Julia???? …lol…
      I know I make you all wait until the finish…but it won’t be too long now!!!!!
      Gotta zip over to your Blog now to see if Grandfather has more hooking!!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

      1. Hi Sunnie, sorry to disappoint you about my hooking. I’ve been working on another project and I’m about 3/4 done but it very time consuming.

        For years I’ve been collecting recipes clippings and I have so many that I can’t keep them straight and waste time looking for a favorite one because they get all disorganized in my rush to prepare dinner… So that’s what I’ve been working on in my spare time…
        Hugs,
        JB

Leave a Reply

