New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 29

Quick post today…not very exciting I’m afraid but it has to be done to get to the finish..!!!!!   🙂

I worked on the upper and lower borders for today’s post, using the two rows of #8 cut all around the rug edge and then the scrappy pieces in those borders.   Also, there is always background to fill in so I did more of that too.

I have a couple more motifs to do on the left side…and maybe some circles or spirals or squiggles in the background.   You never know when you will really need a squiggle!!!!!    …lol…

I am delighted to be using up so many leftover woolworms!   I really needed to do that and I am glad that a Magdalena-style rug is so good for just that very thing!!!!!

So here is Progress on Day 29…(I have also been tweaking colours and adjusting motifs as I look at the rug and see little things that need fixing!)

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Oldmagday29x

OldmagdaDay29

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “New Rug “Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie/rug hooking-Day 29”

  1. A little song I made up just now to the tune of John Denver’s, The Garden Song:~)

    Hoop by hoop, row by row, you’re gonna make that big rug grow,
    All it takes is a hook and some worms and a nice sturdy frame.
    Inch by inch, row by row, someone bless the hoops you pull,
    Someone cheers you on, till all the spaces are filled.
    A tweaking here and a tweaking there,
    A rug is made of dreams and care and sweet and lots of memories.

    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hey…you’re a songstress too, Julia!!! 🙂
      Yes…that’s what it takes…and I almost always find it a relaxing and gentle activity! I’m glad I decided to do the Magdalena-style rug and it is fun to do it very differently from my first small one. And then there are those pesky woolworms…at least when I hook them in, they can’t crawl out again!!!!!!! …lol…
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

Leave a Reply

