“Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie-Day 37-finished

Hooray…I was able to get in some hooking today and my Magdalena-style rug “Old Crow Farm” is Finished in 37 days!!!   It was getting pretty heavy to move around by finishing time!!!!   🙂

Of course, this is my own “domestic zoo”…and as I told you at the start, all the animals were either on or did visit our Vermont farmhouse home down that country road!   This really looks to me like a rug made by someone who was using up leftovers from other projects and enjoying working with simple motifs…and, of course, that is just what I was doing!!!!  

Thank you so much for coming along on this adventure with me…I have enjoyed your company!   If you are working on a rug and have a question for me I’ll certainly try to answer it…!   However, you know by now the way I work is a bit “unconventional” …but I do get the rugs hooked even with my constant experiments!!!!!!   …lol…

I will rest for a while and then see what adventure I do next…always fun to see what designs pop into my head..!!!   I do have a few other small projects that I should do…so we’ll just wait and see what happens!

I hope you have been inspired to try your own rug in the style of Magdalena or try a reproduction of one of her rugs.   I’m sure you will have a good time as you have such freedom with motif and colour!!!

So here is Progress on Day 37…the Finish of “Old Crow Farm” (with all the hooking done it is now 26 x 51 inches)   We’ll see what it is after it is all steamed.   Not my best photography but it is hard for me to get pictures of these larger rugs as they are a bit wider than my “clothespin board”!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Magdaday37finnishh

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

9 thoughts on ““Old Crow Farm”-Magdalena-style/Sunnie-Day 37-finished”

  1. What a surprise this morning to see that you finished your Magdalena rug. It looks real good. I can see that you need a rest after hooking all those animals. You did a great.

    I wonder what you’ll tackle next.
    Hugs,
    JB

    1. Hooray!!! Thank you, Julia!!! It was great fun! And I’m glad my skunk doesn’t look like a strange potbellied pig anymore!!!!! …lol…

      Who knows what the next rug will be…!!!! I’ll start thinking up something soon!!!
      Hugs, Sunnie 🙂

  2. Absolutely love this rug. I have so enjoyed following your posts. I am working on my first rug! and have discovered my own unconventional style of designing as I go. Thank you for inspiring my to let my imagination flow on to the fabric.

    1. Thank you, Lynn…as you know, I really love the minimal planning and designing as I go also! 🙂

      I learn a lot by experimenting and by my mistakes too!!!!! It is so easy to correct a mistake…why not try something to see if it works? …lol… And why not use our imaginations to create something pleasing to us!

      I am glad you have been on this adventure with me!!! Now a little rest for my brain…and on to the next adventure!!!
      I’m glad you are having fun with your rug…Enjoy!!!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  3. Very nice rug, Sunnie, and it has inspired me to make two similar ones. I had already drawn out a similar idea months ago and tucked it away in a file I use to keep hooking ideas in for future use. But your use of Magdelena style, plus using up worms, struck a note when I saw it so that’s what I plan to do.

    Two rugs you wonder? That’s because through the years I realize just how many family pets we’ve had, and I’m not even adding in our animal and bird visitors at our Vermont homes. It will definitely take two I think and since I have 3 children they will have to do battle over them at some point. But it will be fun and certainly resurrect a bunch of memories as I work on them.

    Can’t wait to see what you decide to do next. Am sure it won’t be long before you start another hooking project.

    I am curious as to how you ended up in Oregon after you left Vermont? I bet that right about now you are thinking that you are glad you are where you are with all the snow New England has been getting of late. Also really cold there lately. Did you find it easy to make the transition? I’m not sure if you ever stop being a Vermonter once you live there for years — I know I haven’t.

    1. Thank you, Jo Anne…and I am delighted that you will hook 2 similar rugs too!!!! You’ll have such fun!!!! 🙂

      It is so nice for me to feel I have encouraged anyone to try something as a result of visiting my Blog! I have been inspired by many people over the years too…maybe by a colour they have used or a motif…! Or a reproduction of an antique rug…I’ve been inspired by them all…!

      Joe and I decided to come to Oregon when he was dying of the brain tumor because we had children in Washington, Oregon, California and Arizona and the Portland Oregon area was a good location convenient for all of them to visit. At that time, we did not know how long Joe had to live.
      While waiting for me to finish the packing in Vermont and all the preparations for us to move, Joe died April 21st at his son’s home in Arizona. I was in the airport in Boston waiting to board a flight to be with him when I received the phone call that he had died.

      I had lived in Oregon before, with my first husband so it was not a “strange” place. We lived in Eugene, Coos Bay, Irish Bend and Milwaukie, Oregon about 40 years ago (!!!)

      I still miss Vermont, New England and my family and friends there…also the Green Mountain Rug Hooking Guild and the Art Galleries I worked with when I had my business. And I miss my happy and peaceful rural life down that country road with Joe for 21 years!!!

      But I am greatly blessed to be here close to my children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren and apartment living here in King City is great for me as I have no home owner’s responsibility!!! It means I can live a quiet and peaceful life here too, enjoying many happy days of rug hooking and other art and craft work!

      I think I just wrote a book!!!! …lol… I hope to see those 2 rugs when you are hooking them or when they are finished…!!!

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

      1. Well you may have been the final inspiration to get my own blog up too. And it’s about time for me to do it!
        Looking forward to seeing your new work.

      2. Hi Jo Anne…what is the name of your Blog…I’ll put you on my blog list..!!!
        By the way, my “real” name is Joanne (the one-word spelling)…however I’ve had my nickname for about 50 years!!!! 🙂

        It started as a joke, because of my generally positive attitude about life! In my 20’s, my friends teased me by saying things like “Well, here comes Sunshine!!” in that sicky=sweet voice usually reserved for children and old people!!! We all got a good laugh but the Sunshine or Sunny name stuck…so I adopted it, spelling it with an “ie”!
        Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. That is a coincidence about our names!
    I ended up with the double name Jo Anne because my parents could not agree on my name when I was born (Kirsten or Christine) so they compromised with Jo Anne, which was a combination of their own names. It works.

    I like the nickname Sunnie. Great connotation, especially out here in the NW. I could seriously use some sun about now, believe me.

    Once my blog is complete I’ll be sure to send it along to you. My daughter has been after me for two years to get one up but I’ve been worried I won’t be able to navigate the set up of it. Blogger seems relatively easy and is a nice in between set up, at least for awhile. I figure I can always change if I need to. WordPress is beautiful but I don’t think I’m up to the challenge of it.

Leave a Reply

