Home Sweet Home/Sunnie/rug hooking/Magdalena-style rug/Display

(Special Note:   Elaine was asking about the “Little Allerton” rug pattern that I hooked in 2010.   It is a pattern from the House of Price, designed by Jane McGown Flynn.   It is about 24 x 36)

Here is the photo…

Allerton

I thought you might enjoy seeing where I can place my rug in my Living room.   The Bradley Primitive rug is under the coffee table now and, of course, it goes well with my “little old lady” furnishings!!   …lol…

HomeBradleyBut I have three places where I can put my Old Crow Farm rug when the edge finishing is completed.   Now I know that a “folk art primitive” rug does not “go” with my furniture…but that does not stop Me!!!   I don’t worry about what goes with what…I just decorate with what I like and use colour as a blending medium.

I could replace the Bradley under the coffee table or I could show the OCFarm rug in front of the 2 chairs.

And an even better idea would be to put the rug in the dining room where I have several rugs against one wall of cabinets!   I’ll decide later.

Homecoffeemag

 

 

 

 

Here is what it might look like in front of the 2 chairs and not only do I have old pictures of my relatives, old needlework and Victorian pictures around…I also have my “lovely” Prince and Princess rug “Can you Believe…One of Them is Wearing Dentures” in the same room!   So you know that my home is certainly “eclectic”!!!!!!    …lol…

 

Homemagda1Homedenture

Below is the “normal” living room…the cat has her cushions around the place too!   However, she really enjoys sleeping on paper catalogues or plastic bags!!!   I have never known a more eccentric cat (she also loved thunderstorms in Vermont and wanted to go outside on the porch to watch the lightning!)   Now (at going on 19 years) she is rather deaf so seems to have little interest in the rainstorms here!!!!

HomeBasic

I’m enjoying getting organized and thinking about my next adventure!   Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

 

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

7 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home/Sunnie/rug hooking/Magdalena-style rug/Display”

  1. Thanks for giving us a tour of your loving room. Your rugs looks really at home with the colors fitting right in. You call it old lady furnishing but I think that it’s pretty cool.
    My furniture is a mishmash or old and second hand furniture that I pick up or were given to me and it is what it is. My friends have new modern furniture but I prefer the older style with some history.

    I’m sure you’ll find a good place for your Magdalena rug.

    Thanks for your nice comment on my blog.
    Hugs.
    Julia

  2. I’m eclectic also and don’t care if something “goes” in my home. Maybe someday I can come to visit in your home or you could visit me in Cottage Grove. I think your rug will look nicely anywhere and you can move it from time to time. Take care and keep hooking.

    1. Thank you Carole…I hope we can get together for a visit. That would be fun! 🙂

      Also, do you attend the “Hookity Do Dah” that is held in Ridgefield, WA just over the border from Portland?
      this year – 2015 – it will be May 14-16
      I hope to be there. I went last year for the first time…were you there? I know there were a lot of us but I don’t know everybody…still new to the area after 1 year!!! …lol…

      And the Autumn in the NW 2015 is held at the same place in Ridgefield. 9/24-9/26 this year.

      And, of course, there is an August to Remember gathering…but I don’t know if it is held every year.

      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  3. Hi sunnie,, I heard u mention “little allerton”Rug u had hooked,,, I would like to see it,, is it in the photo section of rug hoong daily?? As our name is allerton ,, would be interested in it,, thanks,,

    1. Hi Elaine…if you love flowers the “Little Allerton” rug would be perfect for you!!!! It is a pattern designed by Jane McGown Flynn and you can order the pattern from the House of Price. (it is a primitive pattern and is fun to hook!)

      Just “google” House of Price and then get their number from their home page to order the pattern! I will post a picture on my Blog here for you to see…I’ll add it to my Living room photos!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 🙂

  4. Thanks agsin , sunnie, for posting pic of the rug for me ,,, thats very thoughtful of you,,,,, take care ,,, happy hooking,,, cant wait to see ur next project,,,,

Leave a Reply

