Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/Quilt Extra!

I thought you might enjoy seeing what I am working on while I take a little break from rug hooking!   🙂

My youngest daughter is collecting Sunbonnet Sue quilts (she’s a quilter) and I thought I might make one for her collection.   I haven’t done much quilting in the last 20 years (except for the applique quilt I was working on as a Memory piece early in 2014.)

Also, my oldest daughter is also a quilter so I thought I might make a quilt for her too.   Just so they each have a small quilt made by “Mom”!!!   …lol…

I’ll pass along my “family quilt” … done years ago when several family members got together and made “friendship quilts” for each person involved…to my son as he isn’t a quilter (!!!) but is the “keeper of the family history” person!   🙂

So this is Miki’s quilt…”Sunbonnet Sue’s Scrappy Pinwheels”.   Of course, I had to do some odd things with it (!!!!!) so I made three of the pinwheels going the opposite way from all the rest and quilted the Sunbonnet center block with the lines going different directions like wind gusts.   The pinwheel blocks were put together at random, just trying to not have the same dark colours side by side.

This is great fun and even though my piecing (machine) and quilting (by hand) skills have suffered from neglect over the years, I’m just having fun and not worrying about what the “quilt police” will say!    …lol…

I’m preparing my linen and still thinking about patterns for my next rug as I work on finishing this quilt.

Here we go!   Happy Hooking (and quilting too!)   Sunnie  🙂

SUEscrappypinwheels

 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

8 thoughts on “Sunnie/rug hooking/hooked rugs/Quilt Extra!”

    1. Marie, I had thought about putting about 5 pinwheels going in the opposite direction but when laying them out, I must have put the other 2 back in the right position!!!!! …lol… I’ve stared at the quilt so much that unless I missed the other 2, there are only the 3 opposites on the quilt now!!!
      Happy Hooking, and Quilting! Sunnie 🙂

  1. Sunnie, I don’t know what, but I never saw your last finished piece, your old farm animals. How can I see the finished piece?

Leave a Reply

